Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Erich
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 131

Old February 14th, 2013, 08:50 AM
Hi,
In my never ending quest to get the lizardman Primitive racial property to work I decided to try and modify the Very Costly Attribute racial property.
Now the script to apply that to Smarts is
Code:
 
linkage[Attribute].field[trtCost].value += 1
and the link script is
Code:
linkage="Attribute" thing="attrSma"
So I figured that the script to apply this to a skill would be something like
Code:
 
linkage[Skill].field[sklCost].value += 1
and the link would be
Code:
linkage="Skill" thing="skKnow"
But when I try that I get an error saying that sklCost does not exist and if I leave in trtCost I get an error saying that trtCost does not ask for thing skKnow.

Obviously I am doing something wrong here. Am I completely out in left field and need to try another approach or is it just a matter of getting the syntax right for this script?

Thanks
-Erich
Erich is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,819

Old February 14th, 2013, 11:07 AM
I'm pretty sure you would not need to change the Eval script at all. I'm pretty sure the scripts, as is, will set appropriate costs for things based on what you link. I think you only need to modify the Linkage to skKnow. The problem there seems to be that doing that gives you an error that "'skKnow' must be specified as unique", presumably because the source code is set up so that if you put Knowledge in as the link it wants a focus for that knowledge skill (like Knowledge: Battle or Knowledge: Latin or whatever.) I don't know if there is a way around that at all without modifying the underlying source code to handle it, but maybe someone like CapedCrusader could give more insight on that one.

EDIT: Scratch that, it's giving the error because it wasn't a skill with a "Uniqueness" setting of "Unique", which skKnow is not (because you can have multiples of those.) So focus makes no difference in that case. I still think that's still probably a source code issue, though. Something to do with the script "VeryCostlyAttribute", at a guess, which simply may have to be that way. I don't know.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Space 1889 (original file by Erich), Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Eventually
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first... although Pinnacle mentioned this might get an overhaul to SWADE so I may just wait for that first. If you just HAVE to have this now, though, just PM me)

Last edited by zarlor; February 14th, 2013 at 11:14 AM.
zarlor is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,556

Old February 16th, 2013, 01:09 PM
Check my other post... Skills work differently than Attributes in this aspect.
CapedCrusader is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.