Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
lazarus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22

Old December 13th, 2007, 03:55 PM
As to the Deverenian Skill Points thing ... I don't think that script will work, as it's every other total level, not every other class level. For instance: Ftr 1 Wiz 1 should only have 1 added, but as I understand the script (which I may not understand, of course), that would add it twice. On the other hand, I can't really tell if you're looking up where the class happens on the levels, or the level of the class ...

The Nothrog thing will probably work (I have to check it out, though).

Laz

Beware the JabberOrk
lazarus is offline   #21 Reply With Quote
lazarus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22

Old December 13th, 2007, 03:58 PM
Having just tried the Deverenian with your script as is, I have to apologize ... obviously I just didn't know what was going on. It works like that. ... is it using anything I may have to update on dataset updates?

Laz

Beware the JabberOrk
lazarus is offline   #22 Reply With Quote
lazarus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22

Old December 13th, 2007, 04:04 PM
Hit something, though. I realize this is pretty, um, unique, but apparently the Hit Dice display in the class total doesn't particularly read the field[cHitDice] ... either that, or it picks it up at a different Phase than I had it.

Actually, it would be nice to be able to have class descriptions be script editable so that I can use the Nothrog trick to add in brief class ability descriptions based on race to the class description in the class picker dialog.

Laz

Beware the JabberOrk
lazarus is offline   #23 Reply With Quote
lazarus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22

Old December 13th, 2007, 04:06 PM
oh, this reminds me of two UI changes I would like: 1) I want scrollbars in the script edit box, when necessary. It's not always obvious when there's more. 2) I would like the "File->Save" toolbar option to disable when no changes have been made since last save.

Laz

Beware the JabberOrk
lazarus is offline   #24 Reply With Quote
lazarus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22

Old December 13th, 2007, 09:53 PM
I have another question: is there an easy way to have a checkbox, for instance, for "Using Disguise to pass off as a member of a parent race" to get a +4 bonus to Disguise applied while it's on, and not while it's off? Specifically, this is because there's a bunch of conditional bonuses like that, which I don't want the player to easily forget.

(of course, I'll have to go back and add in all that code to all those abilities once I have it, but that's a *shrug* moment )

Laz

Beware the JabberOrk
lazarus is offline   #25 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old December 17th, 2007, 11:27 AM
lazarus wrote:
>
>
> The way Halfbreeds work is this: basically, you choose your two parent
> races, and you get a specific ratial ability for each (that is, there is
> an Elf Halfbreed ability and a Dwarf Halfbreed ability, and your
> Elf/Dwarf would have those, and none of the others)


Hmm. The easiest way to do this is going to be adding a single
"Halfbreed" race, that does nothing. Then add templates for each of the
half-breeds - an Elf Halfbreed template, a Dwarf Halfbreed template,
etc, each with 0 level adjustment. That way you can select the Halfbreed
race, select any two templates you want, and you're up and running.


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #26 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old December 17th, 2007, 11:36 AM
lazarus wrote:
>
>
> Having just tried the Deverenian with your script as is, I have to
> apologize ... obviously I just didn't know what was going on. It works
> like that.


Sorry, I was unclear. I'll go over the different bits in more detail.


~ Iterate through all class levels
foreach pick in hero where "component.BaseClass"

This iterates through all the class levels in the hero. For example, if
you have 2 levels of fighter and 3 levels of Rogue, the following will
run 5 times.


~ Get the index of this level within the list of class levels.
index = each.field[cIndex].value

So your first class level would be index 1, your second would be index
2, etc.


~ If the index is odd, we want to add 2 skill points.
~ Otherwise, 0.
if (index % 2 = 1) then
points = 2
else
points = 0
endif

Nothing hard here - just working out whether this level gets 0 skill
points or 2 skill points.


~ Get the index of this class's skill point totals
~ in the list of classes.
classindex = each.linkage[helper].field[cClsIndex].value

Each class has an index. For example, if we're a fighter 2 / rogue 3,
fighter might be our first class, and rogue might be our second class.
This is done so that we can keep track of how many skill points each
class is allowed.


~ Add the skill points to the class total.
hero.child[Totals].field[tSkTotals].arrayvalue[classindex] += points

Now we know the index of the class, add the right number of skill points.


nexteach

We're done - go on to the next pick.


> is it using anything I may have to update on dataset updates?

I'm not sure what you mean by this?


Hope this helps,

--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #27 Reply With Quote
lazarus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22

Old December 17th, 2007, 11:48 AM
What I meant by "dataset updates" stuff is ... is it using structure that is likely to change, or is that stable structure?

Laz

Beware the JabberOrk
lazarus is offline   #28 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old December 17th, 2007, 11:51 AM
lazarus wrote:
>
>
> Hit something, though. I realize this is pretty, um, unique, but
> apparently the Hit Dice display in the class total doesn't particularly
> read the field[cHitDice] ... either that, or it picks it up at a
> different Phase than I had it.


What phase and priority did you use? Try First/10000, I think that
worked for me.


> Actually, it would be nice to be able to have class descriptions be
> script editable so that I can use the Nothrog trick to add in brief
> class ability descriptions based on race to the class description in the
> class picker dialog.


This is probably what you should use the "replace" stuff for - just
replace the standard class pick with a new one, and you can edit the
descriptions as you like. Will that work?


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #29 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old December 17th, 2007, 11:52 AM
lazarus wrote:
>
>
> oh, this reminds me of two UI changes I would like: 1) I want scrollbars
> in the script edit box, when necessary. It's not always obvious when
> there's more.


Yeah, this is something we've wanted for a couple of months, but hasn't
made it to the top of the pile yet.


> 2) I would like the "File->Save" toolbar option to disable
> when no changes have been made since last save.


I've added this to the list.


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #30 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.