Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
furby076
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74

Old June 2nd, 2017, 05:38 PM
Anyone know of a way to create a custom ability that increases reach by 5 feet? So when the class ability is active, the character reach increases by 5.

WHat i currently have, in class special:

foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where "wCategory.Melee"
eachpick.field[wReach].value = maximum(eachpick.field[wReach].value,5)
nexteach
furby076 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
furby076
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74

Old June 8th, 2017, 04:34 PM
Anyone have thoughts on this?
furby076 is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old June 8th, 2017, 05:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by furby076 View Post

foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where "wCategory.Melee"
eachpick.field[wReach].value = maximum(eachpick.field[wReach].value,5)
nexteach
Have you tried

Code:
 foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where "wCategory.Melee"
    eachpick.field[wReach].value += 5
  nexteach
I put this in as a feat at Pre-levels 10000 and all my weapons equipped gain 5 feet reach - should work the same as a class feature. I'm not sure why you're trying to set the reach to a maximum value
dungeonguru is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
furby076
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74

Old June 9th, 2017, 07:08 PM
I created this, using pre-levels 10000

if (field[abilActive].value <> 0) then
foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where "wCategory.Melee"
eachpick.field[wReach].value += 5
nexteach
endif

Not working. 5e fyi.
It's a class special (GIant Growth).
furby076 is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old June 9th, 2017, 09:26 PM
TLDR:
Probably need to sacrifice something to a script god like ShadowChemosh to get the correct answer, I understand scripting but not enough for this one.

My Experience Long Read Version:
It works for me in 5e. I created a test class and gave it the custom ability as you have it coded at level 1.

When I activate the ability on the In-Play tab, the weapons all gain 5 feet reach when I look at the statblock. What doesn't update is the reach in the basics pane - but then again you're not changing the reach of the base race or any of the basic stats - you're changing the reach of each weapon with the script you're using and the only way to see weapon reach stats reliably is in the File -> Output statblock or the debug fields on the weapon, it doesn't show the reach stat anywhere else that I can tell, not even the tactical console.

Only other way to change the size/reach would be to manipulate the base race statistics somehow.

The debug info on the size/reach on the Abilities tab doesn't even show a global reach field or tag - it must be baked in the basic info somewhere and I'm not sure how to grab that information.
dungeonguru is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old June 10th, 2017, 08:42 AM
I assume you are trying to modify the value you see in the Summary tab "Basic" correct? These type of fields are stored on the "hero" level container which in HL is the highest most container.

In HL go to "Develop->Floating Info Windows->Show Hero Fields" and in the little search box type in "reach". You will now see two fields one with a value and one that holds text.

To access a Hero field you use this type of transition script:
Code:
herofield[FIELD_NAME].value += 5
Going to assume armed with this knowledge you can now write a script to affect the reach value.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old June 10th, 2017, 06:07 PM
Ow, slapping forehead - I forgot about that.
dungeonguru is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old June 10th, 2017, 06:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dungeonguru View Post
Ow, slapping forehead - I forgot about that.
No problem. Now you just have to sacrifice your best rolling d20 to me!

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
furby076
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74

Old June 11th, 2017, 02:36 PM
Now why would you assume that armed with knowledge i can get this stuff done?

Pre-levels, 10000

if (field[abilActive].value <> 0) then

herofield[tReach].value += 5
endif

Did nothing for me.
furby076 is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
furby076
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74

Old June 11th, 2017, 02:44 PM
Another way i tried (no go)
if (field[abilActive].value <> 0) then
hero.childfound[Reach].field[tReach].value += 5
endif
furby076 is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.