Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Data Files > Warhammer Fantasy 8th Ed.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
belgarath97
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35

Old November 27th, 2007, 08:11 PM
I have come across an error in the composition rules. In the book Nobles, Princes, and Archamges can take Tiranoc Chariots as a mount option. In the old book, and in other army books it says that these choices are taken as usual from the special slots. But the new HE book does not say that. Shouldn't that mean that taking a Tiranoc Chariot is not a special choice when chosen as a mount.

I refer you to the hordes of chaos book which specifically says, A character may ride in a chariot selected as normal from the army list displacing one of the crew.

No such text exists in the HE book as it currently is written.
belgarath97 is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Silverfox510
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11

Old November 28th, 2007, 03:04 AM
Uhm, hmm...that is an interesting point...however, one could argue that the old composition rules regarding characters and the Tiranoc Chariot remain -

On page 93, when describing rules for mounts, it simply refers you to the Tiranoc Chariot's rules entry on page 97 with no added comment or rules. Upon referring to that entry, it states that the Chariot is a Special choice, and one would assume that it would remain so even if ridden by a character as no proviso is given on p93.

That's just my interpretation of things...
Silverfox510 is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
apollo0681
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 92

Old November 28th, 2007, 06:36 PM
have to agree with belgarath97 here unless it states in the rulebook that it takes up core/special/rare choice then the chariot just counts as a mount

this is like the new battle standard rules, as it no longer states that battle standard bearer cant have normal equipment in the new high elf book this means he now can. Just because they havent written it this time we assume its intentional rather than refering back to the old book.

Going back to the chariots the older books usually state if it takes up a sepcial choice hordes of chaos/ dark elves for example like belgarath97 said. However the new orc and goblin book no longer states that a character mounted on a chariot takes up a special choice so it no longer does. The new orc and goblin file works this way aswell rather than counting the chariots as special choices

i imagine its another one of these things they are eventually gonna change for everybody when they get round to doing the books for each army.

like the new battle standard equipment rule i mentioned earlier.
The changes in the common magic items cost etc etc
apollo0681 is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
thedeadmonky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4

Old November 30th, 2007, 06:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverfox510
Have you removed the extra numbers from the file names? :S Did it ask you if wanted to overwrite the old files or not?
yeah it did, and it still wont do anything. the point value for spearmen is still 11
thedeadmonky is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
kgb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4

Old December 2nd, 2007, 08:45 AM
Hi,

Unfortunately I have the same problem as thedeadmonky. I tried several ways:
- copied the files to wh6 folder deleted the originals and then deleted the numbers at the end
- saved the files elsewhere, removed the numbers, then I cipied them to wh6 folder

If I simply copy them with the numbers at the end and I try to delete the numbers, then I am not offered to overwrite, but the message prompts me to give another name as it already exists. Anyway, I think the other two ways I tried should work - but neither worked. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

On chariots being simple mounts or one of the special choices: I agree with belgarath97 and apollo0681. The new tendency is that instead of putting the character on one of the special (or any other choice) chariot, the character simply gets an additional one - thus increasing the potential number of chariots in an army. The wording has changed in the new Orc&Goblin book as well (it used to be one of the spec. choice chariots, now it is additional one). Since then many O&G players put the scroll caddy 1st level goblin shaman on a chariot, so if the gobbo runs out of the scrolls by turn 2, it can at least cause d6+1 impact hit fore a mere 60 points :-)

Thanks,
Gabor
kgb is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
pagan-gerbil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6

Old December 3rd, 2007, 07:30 AM
I got them to work ok, by removing (well, moving to a safe backup place) the original files. Then I took the numbers from the new files (so they had identical names) and moved those to where the old ones used to be. Worked first time for me.
pagan-gerbil is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
CK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3

Old December 3rd, 2007, 08:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb
On chariots being simple mounts or one of the special choices: I agree with belgarath97 and apollo0681. The new tendency is that instead of putting the character on one of the special (or any other choice) chariot, the character simply gets an additional one - thus increasing the potential number of chariots in an army. The wording has changed in the new Orc&Goblin book as well (it used to be one of the spec. choice chariots, now it is additional one). Since then many O&G players put the scroll caddy 1st level goblin shaman on a chariot, so if the gobbo runs out of the scrolls by turn 2, it can at least cause d6+1 impact hit fore a mere 60 points :-)
I agree with all of this about the chariots, but on the same line of reasoning, they should also be alone in that chariot, as it doesn't say they replace ONE of the TWO crew. They are now the only crew in the chariot.
CK is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
kgb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4

Old December 3rd, 2007, 09:42 AM
It must be the curse of some vile gods, but I can not get it right - I did the juggling with the files, but still old data shows up. Do not I have to import file or locate files?

Chariots: I am not sure of the HE crew replacement, unfortunately I have no access to the book yet, but the O&G specifically says one of the normal crew members.

Regards,
Gabor
kgb is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
apollo0681
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 92

Old December 4th, 2007, 05:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb
On chariots being simple mounts or one of the special choices: I agree with belgarath97 and apollo0681. The new tendency is that instead of putting the character on one of the special (or any other choice) chariot, the character simply gets an additional one - thus increasing the potential number of chariots in an army. The wording has changed in the new Orc&Goblin book as well (it used to be one of the spec. choice chariots, now it is additional one). Since then many O&G players put the scroll caddy 1st level goblin shaman on a chariot, so if the gobbo runs out of the scrolls by turn 2, it can at least cause d6+1 impact hit fore a mere 60 points :-)
I agree with all of this about the chariots, but on the same line of reasoning, they should also be alone in that chariot, as it doesn't say they replace ONE of the TWO crew. They are now the only crew in the chariot.
Its says replaces one of the crew. As in you take one crew member off and add the character. if it was meaning he was alone in the chariots it would say he replaces all the crew or both of the crew.
apollo0681 is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
CK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3

Old December 5th, 2007, 10:38 PM
yeah my mistake, go figuer I didnt remember seeing that there, and then re-read it after I posted it ;(
CK is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.