Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Card Vault Forums > Card Vault

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
drkphoenixe at netscape.n
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old April 30th, 2004, 04:23 PM
Hi.
Just joined the list, so Im not sure if this is how I can get help with this, but here goes:

I recently renewed my license and downloaded v1.5. I only use the program for L5R, and I discovered that, after also downloading Hidden City, the program crashes after I click the button to filter cards. Unfortunately, I don't know if it is the Hidden City files that are doing this to me, or if it is the new version of Cardvault. Any help would be appreciated (Even if its simply how to reload v1.4 and use it :-/)

Thank you.

--
Brandon M. Kenney

Hoshi Taiku
Dragon Clan Enlightened Monk
"It is impossible to find Enlightenment. Instead, simply live life well, and Enlightenment will find you."


__________________________________________________ ________________
Introducing the New Netscape Internet Service.
Only $9.95 a month -- Sign up today at http://isp.netscape.com/register

Netscape. Just the Net You Need.

New! Netscape Toolbar for Internet Explorer
Search from anywhere on the Web and block those annoying pop-ups.
Download now at http://channels.netscape.com/ns/search/install.jsp



------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at MyInks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada.
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/mOAaAA/3ex...sNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->


Yahoo! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/cardvault/

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
cardvault-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old April 30th, 2004, 09:27 PM
At 04:50 PM 4/30/2004, you wrote:
>Hi.
>Just joined the list, so Im not sure if this is how I can get help with
>this, but here goes:
>
>I recently renewed my license and downloaded v1.5. I only use the program
>for L5R, and I discovered that, after also downloading Hidden City, the
>program crashes after I click the button to filter cards.

Do you have an active filter before you enter the filter dialog (is the
filter button concentric rings, or a star)?

What is shown when you right-click on the filter button?

Does this happen to any other games? (Try importing, for example, Magic,
and see if the same thing happens when you use it.)

>Unfortunately, I don't know if it is the Hidden City files that are doing
>this to me, or if it is the new version of Cardvault.

The previous version of the L5R files should be saved in the 'download'
folder beneath Card Vault. Importing those should revert you to that
version; does the problem still occur if you do that? (If you've added
cards to your inventory from anything in the new data files, you might want
to back up your inventory before you downgrade to the previous files.)

Thanks,


--
Colen McAlister (colen@wolflair.com)
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com




------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at MyInks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada.
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/mOAaAA/3ex...sNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->


Yahoo! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/cardvault/

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
cardvault-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
drkphoenixe at netscape.n
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old May 1st, 2004, 12:56 PM
>Do you have an active filter before you enter the filter dialog (is the
>filter button concentric rings, or a star)?

It has a Star in a circle (Active Filter, I guess).

>What is shown when you right-click on the filter button?

IT tells me what my filter is set to: Episode: Fall of Otosan Uchi; Heaven and Earth; DIamond Edition; Reign of Blood; Trading Grounds; Winds of Change Rarity [Excluding]: Reprint

>Does this happen to any other games? (Try importing, for example, Magic,
>and see if the same thing happens when you use it.)

I downloaded the Warlord files and using the filter there didnt make the program crash.

>The previous version of the L5R files should be saved in the 'download'
>folder beneath Card Vault. Importing those should revert you to that
>version; does the problem still occur if you do that?

Yes. The program crashed on me when i reverted back to the v5.5 L5R files.

Is there a way to reset my filter settings to none without deleting the whle program and starting over (I have the above filter set as my default filter also)?

--
Brandon M. Kenney

Hoshi Taiku
Dragon Clan Enlightened Monk
"It is impossible to find Enlightenment. Instead, simply live life well, and Enlightenment will find you."


__________________________________________________ ________________
Introducing the New Netscape Internet Service.
Only $9.95 a month -- Sign up today at http://isp.netscape.com/register

Netscape. Just the Net You Need.

New! Netscape Toolbar for Internet Explorer
Search from anywhere on the Web and block those annoying pop-ups.
Download now at http://channels.netscape.com/ns/search/install.jsp


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at MyInks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada.
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/mOAaAA/3ex...sNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->


Yahoo! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/cardvault/

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
cardvault-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  #3 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,003

Old May 3rd, 2004, 03:04 PM
Hi Brandon,

Thanks for providing the details. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to reproduce
the problem with those settings. And since the problem occurs with the V5.5
data files, plus no one reporting this kind of problem with V1.5, it's not
likely to be a simple matter of fixing an obvious bug (in CV or the files). :-(

The first thing to try is to force a recompile of the data files. This
should have occurred when you reloaded the V5.5 data files, but it's
possible it didn't. To be sure, use Windows Explorer to go into the folder
where the L5R data files are kept and delete the file named "core.cvz". By
default, this folder will be "c:\cardvault\data\l5r". Then try reloading
the L5R files, which will have to be recompiled since the run-time file is
missing.

If that doesn't fix things, there's no easy way to simply reset the filter
settings, except for mucking with the Windows Registry directly. If you are
comfortable doing that, I'll outline how to do it. But mucking with the
Registry can be dangerous if you change things you're not supposed to
change, so the choice is up to you. As long as you only change the things I
specify, you'll be fine. :-)

In case you want them, the steps are:

1. Launch the Registry Editor. Go to the Start menu, select Run, type in
"regedit", and click OK. You'll see something similar to Windows Explorer,
with an expanding list on the left side and settings on the right side.
2. On the left side, expand HKEY_CURRENT_USER.
3. Expand Software.
4. Expand Lone Wolf Development
5. Expand Card Vault
6. Expand L5R
7. One the right, you'll see a bunch of settings prefixed with "Filter:".
Right-click on each of them and select Delete to remove the setting.
8. Exit the Registry Editor.
9. Launch Card Vault.

At this point, all L5R filters for CV will be removed, including your
default filter. If the filter was somehow corrupted, this will fix things.
If that doesn't fix things, the problem is something else.

I just thought of another thing you can do. Start by saving a copy of your
L5R inventory to another location. This file is "inv.cvz" and will be found
in the same folder mentioned above by default. Once you save this file
elsewhere, go to the Tools menu within CV and select Delete Game System.
Delete the L5R files (you can do this while Warlord is loaded). This should
delete everyhing (including your original inventory, which is why you need
a copy someplace else). Import the L5R files again. Copy your inventory
file back into the folder with the L5R files. Then load the L5R files. This
ought to give you a clean start with L5R again, since all of the settings
should have been deleted along with the game system.

Hope this helps,
Rob

At 04:55 PM 5/1/2004 -0400, you wrote:

> >Do you have an active filter before you enter the filter dialog (is the
> >filter button concentric rings, or a star)?
>
>It has a Star in a circle (Active Filter, I guess).
>
> >What is shown when you right-click on the filter button?
>
>IT tells me what my filter is set to: Episode: Fall of Otosan Uchi; Heaven
>and Earth; DIamond Edition; Reign of Blood; Trading Grounds; Winds of
>Change Rarity [Excluding]: Reprint
>
> >Does this happen to any other games? (Try importing, for example, Magic,
> >and see if the same thing happens when you use it.)
>
>I downloaded the Warlord files and using the filter there didnt make the
>program crash.
>
> >The previous version of the L5R files should be saved in the 'download'
> >folder beneath Card Vault. Importing those should revert you to that
> >version; does the problem still occur if you do that?
>
>Yes. The program crashed on me when i reverted back to the v5.5 L5R files.
>
>Is there a way to reset my filter settings to none without deleting the
>whle program and starting over (I have the above filter set as my default
>filter also)?


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (650) 588-8252
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com




------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at MyInks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada.
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/mOAaAA/3ex...sNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->


Yahoo! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/cardvault/

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
cardvault-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
rob is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.