Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 397

Old July 16th, 2017, 05:55 AM
Hi, I'm creating portfolios of Summoned Monsters. For Summon Minor Monster, none of the animals are showing the "Template Required" (after Configure Hero, checking the summoned monster thing).

So, following the instructions here, it needs the Hero.NeedSumTem right?: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthrea...ero.NeedSumTem

So instead of editing all the animals, I instead created an Adjustment to add it. It seemed to work BUT it doesn't flag as a validation error. It shows the "Add Required Summoned Creature Template" as red but no other validation errors (and I need it in the Validation Report so it shows in the XML for further processing down the road...)

Do I have it in the wrong spot? Where should it go instead of First?


First (Priority 100)
Code:
      ~ If we're not enabled, get out now
      doneif (field[pIsOn].value = 0)
 
      ~ make us summoned
      perform hero.assign[Hero.NeedSumTem]

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release
Jamz is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old July 16th, 2017, 12:41 PM
In the configure hero, have you selected the summoned creature source? It's in the "Classes to Show" section, near the bottom of the source list.
Aaron is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 397

Old July 19th, 2017, 04:45 PM
Yes. Which gives you all that summon monster stuff.

But there is a "Checkbox" that denotes "This is a summon monster and should apply a template".

Basically, it's the difference between Summon Minor Monster & Summon Minor Ally for a Bat. One requires Celestrial/Fiendish template, the other doesn't.

The Hero.NeedSumTem simply drives this "Checkbox". From what I can tell, you bake this tag in for "most" creatures but not all.

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release
Jamz is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 397

Old July 21st, 2017, 03:48 PM
Shameless bump for help...

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release
Jamz is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old July 21st, 2017, 04:58 PM
Well, if I understand what you're saying, the "add a template" text is red, but the validation warning isn't appearing, and for some reason that's a problem for you. Here is the XML for the relevant validation error:

Code:
    <evalrule
      index="2"
      phase="Validation"
      priority="10000"
      message="You must apply a template to this summoned monster!"
      summary="Summoned Monster template required!"><![CDATA[
      ~the rest only applies if we're NOT the race of a fused Eidolon - the
      ~real race is the one in the hero container, and it applies these effects
      validif (container.ishero = 0)

      ~ This is not important if the hero is not a summoned creature
      validif (hero.tagis[Hero.Summoned] = 0)

      ~ We only need to check this if we are a race which sometimes requires
      ~ a summon template, all others are automatically valid.
      validif (tagis[Hero.NeedSumTem] = 0)

      ~ Even if we are a summoned creature and could require a template, we won't
      ~ actually require one unless the user checks the "Template Required?"
      ~ checkbox to indicate for this spell the template is needed.
      validif (herofield[tSumTempRq].value = 0)

      ~ Finally, if all the other tests are passed, then we need to check that
      ~ a valid template has been added to the hero, as indicated by a hero tag.
      validif (hero.tagis[Hero.HasSumTem] <> 0)
      ]]></evalrule>
Your adjustment isn't in a container, it is on the hero so the first validif shouldn't be satisfied.

You said you checked the Summoned Creature source in the config, and I believe that applies the Hero.Summoned tag. So that shouldn't trip the 2nd validif

Your adjustment is applying Hero.NeedSumTem, so that should be fine for the 3rd.

I'm guessing the fourth, which checks that herofield, is probably where you're going wrong. Did you check the box for the hero?
Aaron is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 397

Old July 22nd, 2017, 06:25 AM
It looks like all the tags & fields are there? Everything works except for the Validation Report.

Also, here's a link to the portfolio if needed.

Attached image is what I have (with my custom adjust above turned on).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg summonTags.jpg (177.2 KB, 5 views)

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release
Jamz is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old July 22nd, 2017, 09:20 AM
Ah, I think I have it. Look at the context of the 3rd validif
Aaron is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 397

Old July 22nd, 2017, 09:41 PM
Hrm. If I'm reading that right, doesn't that say it's valid if tag Hero.NeedSumTem doesn't exist? (which it does?)

validif (tagis[Hero.NeedSumTem] = 0)


Or I'm just missing it completely...

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release
Jamz is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old July 23rd, 2017, 05:42 AM
The context from a coding perspective. The other validifs are transitioning from the initial context to the hero, and then checking for a particular tag. The 3rd validif never transitions, so it is checking for the tag on the initial context. This is an evalrule on the race component, so the initial context is the pick it is running on, which is the race. So, what else does your adjustment need to do?
Aaron is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 397

Old July 23rd, 2017, 06:52 AM
That's it, the adjust ONLY adds the checkbox so validation report show that a template is required and has not been selected.

Does it need to go somewhere else other than First or...?

(The above code is the adjustment in it's entirety)

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release
Jamz is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.