Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3l3phant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18

Old April 21st, 2018, 06:39 AM
I've created a custom ability for a character which includes a Tracker and Adjustment. Do I need to export the ability and the portfolio as an .hl and use the method to transfer the entire .hl or can I just transfer the .user file? I've to say, it's not the most user-friendly method of transferring items. I don't suppose there's a way to use the Dropbox method of transfer?

EDIT: Going through the export process and then transferring the .hl file to the iPad and trying to import it gives me an error that the file could not be imported because import files without a third-party id may not be used. Looking in HLExport it clearly shows there's a Third-Party ID and a Name, neither of which are editable.

Last edited by 3l3phant; April 21st, 2018 at 07:10 AM.
3l3phant is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,725

Old April 21st, 2018, 10:04 AM
Try THIS article from LW website.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.

Last edited by BJ; May 6th, 2020 at 03:01 PM.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
3l3phant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18

Old April 21st, 2018, 10:25 AM
Yup- that's the process I followed. It's where the already-populated fields showed up. No idea where the information in those fields could have come from.
3l3phant is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,725

Old April 21st, 2018, 11:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3l3phant View Post
Yup- that's the process I followed. It's where the already-populated fields showed up. No idea where the information in those fields could have come from.
Right so just change the values to be something unique to you. Write them down so you can use them next time.

The values are pre-populated from your last use or with some default values. You can freely change them ONCE you select ONLY your custom .user file.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Ellistar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 4

Old April 29th, 2020, 09:26 AM
This link is now broken, any chance we can have a process in this post?
Ellistar is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
BJ
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 586

Old May 6th, 2020, 03:01 PM
Try it now.
BJ is online now   #6 Reply With Quote
Ellistar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 4

Old May 12th, 2020, 09:20 AM
yup perfect, thanks
Ellistar is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.