Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 282

Old June 1st, 2020, 02:11 PM
So I'm using the Battle Master as a template for my Rune Knight build.

the Battle Master has a script to assign the number of Maneuvers, this script uses -

linkage[table].field[cCustTeTot].arrayvalue[2] += 2
linkage[table].field[cCustTeTot].arrayvalue[6] += 3
linkage[table].field[cCustTeTot].arrayvalue[9] += 4
linkage[table].field[cCustTeTot].arrayvalue[14] += 5

so I'm needing to turn it to a quadrary ability...and I can't for the life of me figure out where cCustTeTot came from.

because I've tried cCustSeTot for secondary and that totally didn't work. So I'd like to find the fields for Primary, Secondary, Quadrary, and Quintary versions of this.
Enforcer84 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 576

Old June 2nd, 2020, 04:52 AM
You could look at Arcane Archer - I think it used Quartenary.

Code:
       linkage[table].field[cSpec4thNm].text = "Arcane Shots"
       linkage[table].field[cSpec4thSi].text = "Arcane Shot"

       linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[2] += 2
       linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[6] += 3
       linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[9] += 4
       linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[14] += 5
       linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[17] += 6
I did a Rune Knight that had 5th:
Code:
       linkage[table].field[cSpec5thNm].text = "Runic Augmentations"
       linkage[table].field[cSpec5thSi].text = "Runic Augmentation"

       linkage[table].field[cCust5Tot].arrayvalue[2] += 3
       linkage[table].field[cCust5Tot].arrayvalue[6] += 5
       linkage[table].field[cCust5Tot].arrayvalue[9] += 7
       linkage[table].field[cCust5Tot].arrayvalue[14] += 9
       linkage[table].field[cCust5Tot].arrayvalue[17] += 11

That leave primary and secondary. The secondary is reserved for subclasses normally so I'd suggest leaving it alone.

cSpecSing (single name .. i.e. Fighting Style)
cSpecName (plural name .. i.e. Fighting Styles)
cCustTot (array for the number allowed)

cSpec2ndSi
cSpec2ndNm
cCustScTot

For reference on the 3rd:
cSpec3rdNm (plural name)
cSpec3rdSi (single name)


You can find these references by going into:
Develop -> Floating Info Windows -> Show Selection Fields -> and then choose the cHelpXXX on a character that has a class assigned to it.
dungeonguru is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 576

Old June 2nd, 2020, 05:01 AM
Addendum:

I think I did my Rune Knight runes as a 5th because I kept seeing the Arcane Shots when I did it as a 4th. You can avoid this by modifying the appropriate abilities field tag expression.

The tag expression fields are:

cCstSpExpr
cCstS2Expr
cCstS3Expr
cCstS4Expr
cCstS5Expr
dungeonguru is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 282

Old June 3rd, 2020, 09:12 PM
That's why I moved to Quatranary beacuse I got all the Battle Master maneuvers Darnit Fighers!

thanks for the response Guru, I'd tried to do a secondary on a wizard but found it easier to do Tertiary with my copied code.

Looking at the addendum, I'm not sure where I'd put the expression fields...oh looking the community files it I see Scout's Favored Terrains and Arcane Arrows in the quarternary spot and all showing up with my runes. It's a reces peanutbutter cup of features.

Is there a way to hide features based on the Subclass?

Last edited by Enforcer84; June 3rd, 2020 at 09:55 PM.
Enforcer84 is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 282

Old June 3rd, 2020, 10:32 PM
I moved it to Spec5, but now I have the scout abilities to deal with...
Enforcer84 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 576

Old June 5th, 2020, 08:10 AM
This is all theory since I haven't tried it yet, but in the code where you set up your progression you would have to have a statement like:

linkage[table].field[cCstS5Expr].text &= " & abCategory.CATID"

where you are appending the text above to the search string. CATID is the category tag for the ability that you create/choose for the abilities.

Like for example the Arcane Shots for the Arcane Archer all have the tag abCategory.FtrAAShots in the XGtE community source file.

The issue here would be that you have to do that for every subclass that has been created by the community so that the tertiary/quartenary/quintenary abilities only show up for the category you want to see.
dungeonguru is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 282

Old June 11th, 2020, 07:52 PM
Oooh cool! I'll give that a shot this weekend. Let you know how it goes.
Enforcer84 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 282

Old June 11th, 2020, 08:59 PM
Well, I tried this -

doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <> 0)

linkage[table].field[cSpec4thNm].text = "Arcane Shots"
linkage[table].field[cSpec4thSi].text = "Arcane Shot"
linkage[table].field[cCstS4Expr].text &= " & abCategory.abCategory.FtrAAShots"

linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[2] += 2
linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[6] += 3
linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[9] += 4
linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[14] += 5
linkage[table].field[cCustQuTot].arrayvalue[17] += 6

And it did not separate my Arcane arrows from the Favored Terrains. I could have put it in the wrong place...

This is Post-Levels, Priority 9000
Enforcer84 is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 576

Old June 12th, 2020, 05:47 AM
Well, 1st issue is that the syntax is wrong, the line should read.

Code:
linkage[table].field[cCstS4Expr].text &= " & abCategory.FtrAAShots"
Second issue is with timing, which I figured out by playing with it.

For my files and testing, I made my "runeguard" and arcane archer both have Quaternary abilities.

My intial script changes didn't work so I dug around and looked at the timing report. It seems that LoneWolf runs a script at Final/9999999 that initializes cCstS4Expr's text field. So, that means you can't play with the field until right after that.

So I took the line I suggested out and put it in a second script that runs immediately after LoneWolf's (at timing Final/10000000)

Example 2nd script:
Code:
doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <> 0)

linkage[table].field[cCstS4Expr].text &= " & abCategory.FtrAAShots"
This worked, now my arcane archer doesn't see anything but arcane shots for the quaternary ability. I did the same to my runeguard and now it can't see the arcane shots and only the runes.
dungeonguru is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 282

Old June 20th, 2020, 12:12 AM
Sweet...not sure how I doubled up on the abCategory but hey, it's me Not surprised.

Edit: And that totally worked. Thank you again!

Last edited by Enforcer84; June 20th, 2020 at 12:14 AM.
Enforcer84 is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.