Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
weh546 at yahoo.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old May 2nd, 2005, 11:20 AM
Ok I just booted my Army Builder 3.0 and was welcome with a sign in
request screen, like I belonged to a paid for view website. Is this
due to the server move and change of hosting site? I'll be honest I
don't like this screen popping up and if I cancel it I notice that I
can access the update server from the program. But I can still see
the updates in AB 2.2.

bhall
  #1 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,005

Old May 3rd, 2005, 02:48 AM
We've been trying to get a new router configured for VPN. Unfortunately,
whenever VPN is enabled, silly things like the login get displayed and
accesses to secure webpages (e.g. online purchases) generate bizarre
certificate warnings. We've spent countless hours trying to get things
sorted out with the tech support folks for the router, but they have
accomplished nothing thus far.

The errors should no longer be occurring, since we've currently abandoned
the VPN until the support team for the router company investigates things
further. The errors may recur when we hear back from the company and resume
our efforts to get VPN working, but it should only be a relatively brief
problem if they do recur.

Sorry for the confusion and inconvenience. If things had actually worked as
advertised, there would have been no problems. :-(

Thanks, Rob

At 06:27 PM 5/2/2005 +0000, you wrote:
>Ok I just booted my Army Builder 3.0 and was welcome with a sign in
>request screen, like I belonged to a paid for view website. Is this
>due to the server move and change of hosting site? I'll be honest I
>don't like this screen popping up and if I cancel it I notice that I
>can access the update server from the program. But I can still see
>the updates in AB 2.2.
>
>bhall


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (408) 927-9880
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com
rob is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
monkeywithanuzi at myreal
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old May 3rd, 2005, 08:08 AM
Hey Rob, I'm a Network Engineer (I'm sure there are quite a few of us
here!)....can you tell me what's going on? I might be able to help.

At 06:50 AM 5/3/2005, you wrote:
>We've been trying to get a new router configured for VPN. Unfortunately,
>whenever VPN is enabled, silly things like the login get displayed and
>accesses to secure webpages (e.g. online purchases) generate bizarre
>certificate warnings. We've spent countless hours trying to get things
>sorted out with the tech support folks for the router, but they have
>accomplished nothing thus far.
>
>The errors should no longer be occurring, since we've currently abandoned
>the VPN until the support team for the router company investigates things
>further. The errors may recur when we hear back from the company and resume
>our efforts to get VPN working, but it should only be a relatively brief
>problem if they do recur.
>
>Sorry for the confusion and inconvenience. If things had actually worked as
>advertised, there would have been no problems. :-(
>
>Thanks, Rob
>
>At 06:27 PM 5/2/2005 +0000, you wrote:
> >Ok I just booted my Army Builder 3.0 and was welcome with a sign in
> >request screen, like I belonged to a paid for view website. Is this
> >due to the server move and change of hosting site? I'll be honest I
> >don't like this screen popping up and if I cancel it I notice that I
> >can access the update server from the program. But I can still see
> >the updates in AB 2.2.
> >
> >bhall
>
>
>---------------------------------------------------------------------------
>Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (408) 927-9880
>Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com
>
>
>
>To unsubscribe from this group, email
>
>armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
>Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
  #3 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,005

Old May 4th, 2005, 01:19 AM
OK, here's the basic scoop of what we've got and the nature of the problem....

We're using a LinkSys WRV54G router and trying to get VPN operational on
it. We're using the new "Quick VPN" mechanism, which entails new
user/password setup on the router and the "Quick VPN" software on the
client computer.

The topology is that there is a webserver behind the WRV54G router. Ports
21/25/80/443 are being port forwarded from the router to the server behind
the router. When port 443 is forwarded to the server, SSL works properly on
the webserver but VPN fails to work. When port 443 is NOT forwarded and is
instead configured as triggered (as recommended by the LinkSys techs), VPN
works correctly but SSL access to the webserver fails. The failure
manifests as the webserver reporting odd security certificate warnings,
referencing names that are nonsensical. Enabling port 443 to be forwarded
again toggles the behavior back to the webserver working and VPN failing.

Regardless of the zillions of other changes that were attempted by the
techs, the above behavior always held true. The behavior always hinged on
whether port forwarding was enabled on port 443 or not. The net appearance
is that port forwarding took precedence over everything else and caused the
router to ignore the VPN packets, just blindly passing everything through
to the server behind it. However, without port forwarding, the SSL packets
never make it to the server.

We currently have port forwarding active so that everything works as it
always has, except that VPN won't work due to the above conflict.

Here are the specs of the test environment in use here....

The client computer is running Win2K with all the latest service packs and
security updates. It is running the Beta version of Quick VPN that was sent
to us by LinkSys. We are also running a new Beta version of the firmware now.

The server is running Win2K server with all the latest service packs and
security updates. The server has a static IP on the subnet to enable
appropriate port forwarding from the router.

We have ADSL with multiple static IPs assigned to us. There is a Netopia
modem/router that is configured for PPPoE and nothing else. Behind the
modem lie two Linksys routers. One is the problematic WRV54G, which has
multiple VPN clients configured using the VPN client access mechanism. The
other is a WRT54G, which has the client computer behind it. Each router is
configured with a separate static IP address.

I think that covers all the critical details. If I've omitted anything,
please don't hesitate to ask for further details. Any suggestions you might
have would be welcome!

Thanks, Rob


At 12:00 PM 5/3/2005 -0400, you wrote:
>Hey Rob, I'm a Network Engineer (I'm sure there are quite a few of us
>here!)....can you tell me what's going on? I might be able to help.
>
>At 06:50 AM 5/3/2005, you wrote:
> >We've been trying to get a new router configured for VPN. Unfortunately,
> >whenever VPN is enabled, silly things like the login get displayed and
> >accesses to secure webpages (e.g. online purchases) generate bizarre
> >certificate warnings. We've spent countless hours trying to get things
> >sorted out with the tech support folks for the router, but they have
> >accomplished nothing thus far.
> >
> >The errors should no longer be occurring, since we've currently abandoned
> >the VPN until the support team for the router company investigates things
> >further. The errors may recur when we hear back from the company and resume
> >our efforts to get VPN working, but it should only be a relatively brief
> >problem if they do recur.
> >
> >Sorry for the confusion and inconvenience. If things had actually worked as
> >advertised, there would have been no problems. :-(
> >
> >Thanks, Rob
> >
> >At 06:27 PM 5/2/2005 +0000, you wrote:
> > >Ok I just booted my Army Builder 3.0 and was welcome with a sign in
> > >request screen, like I belonged to a paid for view website. Is this
> > >due to the server move and change of hosting site? I'll be honest I
> > >don't like this screen popping up and if I cancel it I notice that I
> > >can access the update server from the program. But I can still see
> > >the updates in AB 2.2.
> > >
> > >bhall


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (408) 927-9880
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com
rob is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
monkeywithanuzi at myreal
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old May 4th, 2005, 07:57 AM
Maybe someone else will deny this, but it screams of firmware
corruption. I've some experience with the Linksys routers, and when you
start getting garbage, the firmware's the problem. Try re-flashing the
firmware (if you haven't already). If that doesn't help, try downloading
the firmware again...it's possible (though remote) the file was corrupted
during download. If that fails, it's also remotely possible the router
itself is flakey..possibly a bad chip.

Otherwise, it looks OK to me...I can't think of anything that might be
wrong here.


At 05:21 AM 5/4/2005, you wrote:
>OK, here's the basic scoop of what we've got and the nature of the problem....
>
>We're using a LinkSys WRV54G router and trying to get VPN operational on
>it. We're using the new "Quick VPN" mechanism, which entails new
>user/password setup on the router and the "Quick VPN" software on the
>client computer.
>
>The topology is that there is a webserver behind the WRV54G router. Ports
>21/25/80/443 are being port forwarded from the router to the server behind
>the router. When port 443 is forwarded to the server, SSL works properly on
>the webserver but VPN fails to work. When port 443 is NOT forwarded and is
>instead configured as triggered (as recommended by the LinkSys techs), VPN
>works correctly but SSL access to the webserver fails. The failure
>manifests as the webserver reporting odd security certificate warnings,
>referencing names that are nonsensical. Enabling port 443 to be forwarded
>again toggles the behavior back to the webserver working and VPN failing.
>
>Regardless of the zillions of other changes that were attempted by the
>techs, the above behavior always held true. The behavior always hinged on
>whether port forwarding was enabled on port 443 or not. The net appearance
>is that port forwarding took precedence over everything else and caused the
>router to ignore the VPN packets, just blindly passing everything through
>to the server behind it. However, without port forwarding, the SSL packets
>never make it to the server.
>
>We currently have port forwarding active so that everything works as it
>always has, except that VPN won't work due to the above conflict.
>
>Here are the specs of the test environment in use here....
>
>The client computer is running Win2K with all the latest service packs and
>security updates. It is running the Beta version of Quick VPN that was sent
>to us by LinkSys. We are also running a new Beta version of the firmware now.
>
>The server is running Win2K server with all the latest service packs and
>security updates. The server has a static IP on the subnet to enable
>appropriate port forwarding from the router.
>
>We have ADSL with multiple static IPs assigned to us. There is a Netopia
>modem/router that is configured for PPPoE and nothing else. Behind the
>modem lie two Linksys routers. One is the problematic WRV54G, which has
>multiple VPN clients configured using the VPN client access mechanism. The
>other is a WRT54G, which has the client computer behind it. Each router is
>configured with a separate static IP address.
>
>I think that covers all the critical details. If I've omitted anything,
>please don't hesitate to ask for further details. Any suggestions you might
>have would be welcome!
>
>Thanks, Rob
>
>
>At 12:00 PM 5/3/2005 -0400, you wrote:
> >Hey Rob, I'm a Network Engineer (I'm sure there are quite a few of us
> >here!)....can you tell me what's going on? I might be able to help.
> >
> >At 06:50 AM 5/3/2005, you wrote:
> > >We've been trying to get a new router configured for VPN. Unfortunately,
> > >whenever VPN is enabled, silly things like the login get displayed and
> > >accesses to secure webpages (e.g. online purchases) generate bizarre
> > >certificate warnings. We've spent countless hours trying to get things
> > >sorted out with the tech support folks for the router, but they have
> > >accomplished nothing thus far.
> > >
> > >The errors should no longer be occurring, since we've currently abandoned
> > >the VPN until the support team for the router company investigates things
> > >further. The errors may recur when we hear back from the company and
> resume
> > >our efforts to get VPN working, but it should only be a relatively brief
> > >problem if they do recur.
> > >
> > >Sorry for the confusion and inconvenience. If things had actually
> worked as
> > >advertised, there would have been no problems. :-(
> > >
> > >Thanks, Rob
> > >
> > >At 06:27 PM 5/2/2005 +0000, you wrote:
> > > >Ok I just booted my Army Builder 3.0 and was welcome with a sign in
> > > >request screen, like I belonged to a paid for view website. Is this
> > > >due to the server move and change of hosting site? I'll be honest I
> > > >don't like this screen popping up and if I cancel it I notice that I
> > > >can access the update server from the program. But I can still see
> > > >the updates in AB 2.2.
> > > >
> > > >bhall
>
>
>---------------------------------------------------------------------------
>Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (408) 927-9880
>Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com
>
>
>
>To unsubscribe from this group, email
>
>armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
>Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
  #5 Reply With Quote
Warmonger
Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Western Arizona
Posts: 97

Old May 4th, 2005, 09:00 AM
Yeah, also being a netadmin I would agree. Everything points to a
bizarre error in the router.

On 5/4/05, monkeywithanuzi@myrealbox.com <monkeywithanuzi@myrealbox.com> wrote:
> Maybe someone else will deny this, but it screams of firmware
> corruption. I've some experience with the Linksys routers, and when you
> start getting garbage, the firmware's the problem. Try re-flashing the
> firmware (if you haven't already). If that doesn't help, try downloading
> the firmware again...it's possible (though remote) the file was corrupted
> during download. If that fails, it's also remotely possible the router
> itself is flakey..possibly a bad chip.
>
> Otherwise, it looks OK to me...I can't think of anything that might be
> wrong here.
>
>
> At 05:21 AM 5/4/2005, you wrote:
> >OK, here's the basic scoop of what we've got and the nature of the problem....
> >
> >We're using a LinkSys WRV54G router and trying to get VPN operational on
> >it. We're using the new "Quick VPN" mechanism, which entails new
> >user/password setup on the router and the "Quick VPN" software on the
> >client computer.
> >
> >The topology is that there is a webserver behind the WRV54G router. Ports
> >21/25/80/443 are being port forwarded from the router to the server behind
> >the router. When port 443 is forwarded to the server, SSL works properly on
> >the webserver but VPN fails to work. When port 443 is NOT forwarded and is
> >instead configured as triggered (as recommended by the LinkSys techs), VPN
> >works correctly but SSL access to the webserver fails. The failure
> >manifests as the webserver reporting odd security certificate warnings,
> >referencing names that are nonsensical. Enabling port 443 to be forwarded
> >again toggles the behavior back to the webserver working and VPN failing.
> >
> >Regardless of the zillions of other changes that were attempted by the
> >techs, the above behavior always held true. The behavior always hinged on
> >whether port forwarding was enabled on port 443 or not. The net appearance
> >is that port forwarding took precedence over everything else and caused the
> >router to ignore the VPN packets, just blindly passing everything through
> >to the server behind it. However, without port forwarding, the SSL packets
> >never make it to the server.
> >
> >We currently have port forwarding active so that everything works as it
> >always has, except that VPN won't work due to the above conflict.
> >
> >Here are the specs of the test environment in use here....
> >
> >The client computer is running Win2K with all the latest service packs and
> >security updates. It is running the Beta version of Quick VPN that was sent
> >to us by LinkSys. We are also running a new Beta version of the firmware now.
> >
> >The server is running Win2K server with all the latest service packs and
> >security updates. The server has a static IP on the subnet to enable
> >appropriate port forwarding from the router.
> >
> >We have ADSL with multiple static IPs assigned to us. There is a Netopia
> >modem/router that is configured for PPPoE and nothing else. Behind the
> >modem lie two Linksys routers. One is the problematic WRV54G, which has
> >multiple VPN clients configured using the VPN client access mechanism. The
> >other is a WRT54G, which has the client computer behind it. Each router is
> >configured with a separate static IP address.
> >
> >I think that covers all the critical details. If I've omitted anything,
> >please don't hesitate to ask for further details. Any suggestions you might
> >have would be welcome!
> >
> >Thanks, Rob
> >
> >
> >At 12:00 PM 5/3/2005 -0400, you wrote:
> > >Hey Rob, I'm a Network Engineer (I'm sure there are quite a few of us
> > >here!)....can you tell me what's going on? I might be able to help.
> > >
> > >At 06:50 AM 5/3/2005, you wrote:
> > > >We've been trying to get a new router configured for VPN. Unfortunately,
> > > >whenever VPN is enabled, silly things like the login get displayed and
> > > >accesses to secure webpages (e.g. online purchases) generate bizarre
> > > >certificate warnings. We've spent countless hours trying to get things
> > > >sorted out with the tech support folks for the router, but they have
> > > >accomplished nothing thus far.
> > > >
> > > >The errors should no longer be occurring, since we've currently abandoned
> > > >the VPN until the support team for the router company investigates things
> > > >further. The errors may recur when we hear back from the company and
> > resume
> > > >our efforts to get VPN working, but it should only be a relatively brief
> > > >problem if they do recur.
> > > >
> > > >Sorry for the confusion and inconvenience. If things had actually
> > worked as
> > > >advertised, there would have been no problems. :-(
> > > >
> > > >Thanks, Rob
> > > >
> > > >At 06:27 PM 5/2/2005 +0000, you wrote:
> > > > >Ok I just booted my Army Builder 3.0 and was welcome with a sign in
> > > > >request screen, like I belonged to a paid for view website. Is this
> > > > >due to the server move and change of hosting site? I'll be honest I
> > > > >don't like this screen popping up and if I cancel it I notice that I
> > > > >can access the update server from the program. But I can still see
> > > > >the updates in AB 2.2.
> > > > >
> > > > >bhall
> >
> >
> >---------------------------------------------------------------------------
> >Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (408) 927-9880
> >Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com
> >
> >
> >
> >To unsubscribe from this group, email
> >
> >armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
> >Yahoo! Groups Links
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, email
>
> armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
Warmonger is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
jimi_tubman at blueyonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old May 4th, 2005, 11:19 AM
>Yeah, also being a netadmin I would agree. Everything points to a
>bizarre error in the router.

Please snip your replies - thanks.


Jimi
  #7 Reply With Quote
ted_wolf at sbcglobal.net
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old May 4th, 2005, 01:58 PM
monkeywithanuzi@myrealbox.com wrote:

>Maybe someone else will deny this, but it screams of firmware
>corruption. I've some experience with the Linksys routers, and when you
>start getting garbage, the firmware's the problem. Try re-flashing the
>firmware (if you haven't already). If that doesn't help, try downloading
>the firmware again...it's possible (though remote) the file was corrupted
>during download. If that fails, it's also remotely possible the router
>itself is flakey..possibly a bad chip.
>
>Otherwise, it looks OK to me...I can't think of anything that might be
>wrong here.
>
>
>
I was thinking the same thing as I read this...
  #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request dartnet HL - Mutants & Masterminds 3 July 31st, 2008 09:29 AM
Request dartnet HL - Mutants & Masterminds 2 June 17th, 2008 09:42 AM
Request/Bug dartnet HL - Mutants & Masterminds 1 June 16th, 2008 10:54 AM
Request dartnet HL - Mutants & Masterminds 2 June 12th, 2008 10:55 AM
Request dartnet HL - d20 System 1 April 6th, 2007 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.