Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - User Projects

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Corone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

Old October 1st, 2018, 08:12 AM
Probably me being slow here but...

So I checked I have the authoring package, and I do.
But where do I put the .xml files? (or find the right path for me?)
I tried an 'import files' and that only accepts .HL files.
Corone is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,335

Old October 1st, 2018, 08:29 AM
First, click that link to find the xml page. In that browser window, copy the address, and then you can close that window.

In Hero Lab, at the screen where you're choosing a new game system, click Find Updates at the bottom right.

Then, on the update form, click Add Source on the bottom left. Click New Source, and enter the address. Then, click OK, and leave all the forms, and exit HL and restart it, so that it can reset the search list. Now, click Find Updates again, and the file you want will be available in that list (when I tested Doctor Who, it was a few items from the bottom of the list). Download it there, and it will be added as a new game system for you to choose from. Also, if the author updates it, those updates will be flagged like any other updated HL content.
Mathias is online now   #12 Reply With Quote
EightBitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,332

Old October 1st, 2018, 01:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farling View Post
You need to purchase the authoring kit package for Hero Lab in order to use files for a new game system.

Other than that, all the files just need to be placed in a new directory (in the correct parent directory).
The authoring kit is included with one of the game packages. I think it's 4th Edition, but you can read the descriptions to be sure.

As far as adding it to the game, placing the files in a new directory is one way to do it, if you're downloading files directly. Another way to do it is to add a URL as a source. Then, the new directory gets created automatically, and you're notified of updates.
EightBitz is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,194

Old October 1st, 2018, 03:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by EightBitz View Post
The authoring kit is included with one of the game packages. I think it's 4th Edition, but you can read the descriptions to be sure.

As far as adding it to the game, placing the files in a new directory is one way to do it, if you're downloading files directly. Another way to do it is to add a URL as a source. Then, the new directory gets created automatically, and you're notified of updates.
The actual purchase is the Authoring Kit. Savage Worlds and 4th Edition are implemented games with source code that you will then have access to.
Duggan is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
EightBitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,332

Old October 2nd, 2018, 03:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duggan View Post
The actual purchase is the Authoring Kit. Savage Worlds and 4th Edition are implemented games with source code that you will then have access to.
No, no, no. I'm sure I'm right. I always am. Well, except for that incident in the lab with the bonobo and the mutant X gene, but even that ended up giving us a new flavor of ice cream, so I still count that as a win. (Long story. Also, top secret. Just forget I said anything.)
EightBitz is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
jekessler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9

Old November 15th, 2018, 11:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kairos View Post
Sorry guys. Been off the board awhile. Updated source in my sig.
Hey, thanks for this - I am running games at a Doctor Who convention next weekend, and this will make creating characters a lot easier.

I've been updating the files to add in the descriptions of the various good/bad/special traits. That seems to be working fine.

Would you happen to know how I could include those descriptions on the character sheet? If I add new traits their names seem to get picked up automatically on the sheet, but the descriptions aren't. I assume I have to mod the Sheet_standard1.dat file - I tried adding the field[description].text to the current oAbilPick template, but it doesn't like it as a valid field, so I probably have to define that somewhere.

Thanks,

Jack
jekessler is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.