Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old August 19th, 2009, 09:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsprag View Post
Also just noticed that when it hangs, the HeroLab process is sitting there holding one core of my CPU at 100% load.
Can you send us a stack trace when it hangs?

I have never played with WINE, and I don't have a Linux system available to test anything with. However, if you sent me a stack trace, I could reconcile that against the code and see if there is anything interesting about where/how the hang is occurring. If that uncovers something meaningful, we can take a look at the code in that location and see what might be special that's going on.
rob is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old August 19th, 2009, 10:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabesword View Post
I'm having the exact same problem. Is there a list of what .dlls are used? Often replacing a WINE dll with one from a Windows install takes care of quirks like this.
Hero Lab is linked against the following system DLL libraries:
-kernel32
-user32
-gdi32
-advapi32
-shlwapi
-winspool
-comdlg32
-comsupp
-shell32
-wininet
-ole32
-oleaut32
-uuid
-odbc32
-odbccp32

The last five libraries should *not* be getting used by Hero Lab. However, they are included in the link because we use them with other in-house components and the link list is generic across all of our components.

Hope this proves helpful....
rob is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old August 20th, 2009, 05:51 PM
I tried replacing the listed dlls with those from a working WinXP install, but I get the same results. Only problem is I was unable to locate comsupp or uuid. I also noticed both of the odbc libraries in your list were not included by default in the WINE installation.

Can you tell me how to do a stack trace in ubuntu? I'd be happy to do one, i just don't know how.
huntercc is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
gabesword
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5

Old August 26th, 2009, 10:01 AM
Here is what I get from wine when I run HeroLab.exe and it freezes/crashes:

~/.wine/drive_c/HeroLab$ wine HeroLab.exe
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT 30000
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT 30000
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:HTTPREQ_QueryOption Semi-STUB INTERNET_OPTION_SECURITY_FLAGS: 0
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_SECURITY_FLAGS; STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT 30000
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT 30000
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT 30000
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT 30000
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (30000): STUB
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0
fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0


The "fixme:bitmap:CreateBitmapIndirect planes = 0" is where it begins failing. It is working ok until that point. This is the output from wine. For some reason I can't get winedbg to run HeroLab.exe. Not sure why, though I'm far from a wine expert.
gabesword is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
gabesword
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5

Old August 26th, 2009, 10:25 AM
I got winedbg going with HeroLab.exe (I was using the Linux pid not the Win32 pid, doh!). Not sure if this helps any but here it is:

This GDB was configured as "x86_64-linux-gnu".
(no debugging symbols found)
00000008:00000019: create thread D @(nil)
00000008:0000001c: create thread D @(nil)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\HeroLab\LFBMP13N.DLL @0x1feb0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\HeroLab\LFCMP13N.DLL @0x1fcb0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\localspl.dll @0x7e2c0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\spoolss.dll @0x7e2b0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\ole32.dll @0x7e390000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\rpcrt4.dll @0x7e310000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\uxtheme.dll @0x7e490000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\winex11.drv @0x7e680000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\imm32.dll @0x7e4f0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\wininet.dll @0x7e840000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\mpr.dll @0x7e800000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\comdlg32.dll @0x7e890000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\winspool.drv @0x7e950000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\shell32.dll @0x7ea50000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\comctl32.dll @0x7e980000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\shlwapi.dll @0x7ebe0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\HeroLab\LTDIS13N.dll @0x1ff70000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\HeroLab\ltfil13n.DLL @0x1ffc0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\HeroLab\LTKRN13N.dll @0x1fff0000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\user32.dll @0x7ed40000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\gdi32.dll @0x7ec90000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\advapi32.dll @0x7ec40000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\KERNEL32.dll @0x7b820000 (0<0>)
0008:0009: loads DLL C:\windows\system32\ntdll.dll @0x7bc10000 (0<0>)
00000008:00000009: exception code=0x80000003
warning: Target reported unsupported offsets: Text=7bc6ba41;Data=00000005;Bss=0032fd64
[New Thread 9]
gabesword is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old August 26th, 2009, 01:35 PM
It may help to know that while the D20 system stops while "Building User Interface", the Savage Worlds system loads just fine - however, it freezes as soon as I click on anything that would trigger a popup.
huntercc is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,718

Old August 26th, 2009, 02:27 PM
By "trigger a popup", do you mean "allow you to add new skills / gear / etc", or do you mean something else?

Based on my reading of the above error messages, it looks like we're doing something that WINE doesn't support. We only call the CreateBitmapIndirect function in one place, and that's in code which shouldn't be getting called at all here; so my guess is that we're calling some function that calls CreateBitmapIndirect in a way that WINE doesn't support.

I've registered an account on the WINE forums and posted these logs in an attempt to figure out what the problem is - thanks very much for these, they've been very helpful.
Colen is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old August 26th, 2009, 03:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen View Post
By "trigger a popup", do you mean "allow you to add new skills / gear / etc"
Yes - exactly this. I've only tried d20 and Savage Worlds so far but can try some more if you think it helpful. I don't know how to get all the debug info that gabesword posted though.
huntercc is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,718

Old August 26th, 2009, 03:49 PM
I've just set up an ubuntu virtual machine that runs WINE inside (running windows on linux in windows... hmm) and I've reproduced the errors. Hopefully the WINE developers will be able to help me solve this issue.
Colen is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
gabesword
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5

Old August 27th, 2009, 12:28 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen View Post
I've registered an account on the WINE forums and posted these logs in an attempt to figure out what the problem is - thanks very much for these, they've been very helpful.
You're of course very welcome. Asking the WINE guys & gals is great. With a little luck maybe Hero Lab can get running for us Linux users.
gabesword is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.