Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Data Files > Warhammer 40,000


Thread Tools Display Modes
Posts: n/a

Old September 16th, 2005, 11:57 PM
Hello there,

I noticed one mistake in the Tyranid list.

Page 32 of the Tyranid Codex.

"The same Biomorph cannot be taken more than once on any one Tyranid creature"

According to Games Workshop Headquarters this applies to adrenal glands. Although adrenal glands can give either +1 initiative or +1 WS, they are still considered the same bio morph. A Carnifex for example can only chose to have either the initiave or weapon skill bonus not both.

  #1 Reply With Quote
Volunteer Data File Author
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Western Arizona
Posts: 97

Old September 20th, 2005, 08:22 AM
That's really pushing the definition. Each adrenal gland is listed as a seperate entry. The intent of the rule in not allowing more than one, is so that you can not for example, take two adrenal glands, giving it a +2 initiative.
Warmonger is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Posts: n/a

Old September 20th, 2005, 11:35 PM
Would be nice to take both but read page 32 again.

The same biomorph cannot be taken more than once.

Then read the adrenal glands entry. "Adrenal Glands: Adrenal Glands add +1 to a creature's weapon skill OR initiative characteristic"

If you could take both they would have given it differnt biomorph names.

The design idea behind this is to make Tyranid players choose between getting hit by space Marines on 3s and striking before power fists or getting hit on 4s and going simultaneosly with powerfists.
  #3 Reply With Quote
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9

Old November 22nd, 2005, 07:36 AM
This is actually incorrect what you are saying. The two Adrenal glands you mention are two entirely seperate biomorphs and are not the same. Thus they are allowed to be taken together as concluded by a great majority of people on the Official Forums, Warseer, Dysartes, Dakka Dakka and several other forums. There is nothing in the rules to prevent you from choosing these separate biomorphs together.

If you need further proof please reference p.35 of Codex: Tyranids for the Hive Tyrant entry. It states that only one biomorph with the ** sign may be chosen. Now look at the two Adrenal Glands (I) & (WS), there is no ** sign next to them allowing them both to be chosen on the same creature.

Although it is not possible to use the same biomorph twice on the same creature as indicated on p.32, Adrenal Glands (I) and Adrenal Glands (WS) do two entirely different things and are not classed as the same biomorph. Therefore as demonstrated in the Hive Tyrant example above they are allowed on the same Tyranid Creature.

Hope this helps.


Dionysus is offline   #4 Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.