Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 891

Old July 25th, 2016, 07:47 PM
If you could fix that, then making a Menu Source that only showed valid things would also be possible. That would be cool.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #161 Reply With Quote
EricaOdd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 106

Old July 26th, 2016, 04:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapedCrusader View Post
The only way to really fix it would be to go back and re-code every Edge with a requirement of having another Edge to look at the Super Power stack as well. And it would only affect characters that use the Super Edge Power. I'll try to think of another way around this issue.
If it helps the task seem a bit less daunting, you wouldn't have to do every edge. Only Combat Edges, as they're the only ones that you can get with Super Edge.

So, only Combat Edges, and among those, only that subset that has another Edge as a requirement.
EricaOdd is offline   #162 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,550

Old July 26th, 2016, 12:42 PM
The trick is to set it up so that it not only affects the stock Edges, but to it also works for Edges from other sources.

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd
CapedCrusader is offline   #163 Reply With Quote
kramday
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 13

Old August 3rd, 2016, 10:53 PM
After the last update, I'm getting errors for characters with the Professional and Expert edges. The +1 or +2 is not showing up for the skill, plus they are showing as not using all their skill points. Prior to the update the bonus was showing correctly and all skill points were shown as used.
kramday is offline   #164 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,550

Old August 5th, 2016, 07:00 PM
I'll check that.

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd
CapedCrusader is offline   #165 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 891

Old August 6th, 2016, 08:39 AM
It is messing with the points spent, adjusting the base value (the die) and not the bonus.

In my version, since I have defined the maximums for skills and attributes elsewhere, does work. Maybe it can give you an idea as it works while the official one in HL has stopped working:

For Professional:

Code:
var isSkill as number
isSkill = 1

if (field[usrChosen1].ischosen <> 0) then
   ~ Account for Attribute modifiers
   if (compare(lowercase(field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[name].text),"agility") = 0) then
      hero.child[attrAgi].field[trtMaximum].value += 1
      #traitcreation[attrAgi] += 1
      isSkill = 0
   endif
   if (compare(lowercase(field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[name].text),"arcane") = 0) then
      hero.child[attrArc].field[trtMaximum].value += 1
      #traitcreation[attrArc] += 1
      isSkill = 0
   endif
   if (compare(lowercase(field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[name].text),"smarts") = 0) then
      hero.child[attrSma].field[trtMaximum].value += 1
      #traitcreation[attrSma] += 1
      isSkill = 0
   endif
   if (compare(lowercase(field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[name].text),"spirit") = 0) then
      hero.child[attrSpi].field[trtMaximum].value += 1
      #traitcreation[attrSpi] += 1
      isSkill = 0
   endif
   if (compare(lowercase(field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[name].text),"strength") = 0) then
      hero.child[attrStr].field[trtMaximum].value += 1
      #traitcreation[attrStr] += 1
      isSkill = 0
   endif
   if (compare(lowercase(field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[name].text),"vigor") = 0) then
      hero.child[attrVig].field[trtMaximum].value += 1
      #traitcreation[attrVig] += 1
      isSkill = 0
   endif

   if (isSkill = 1) then
       perform field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[trtRoll].modify[+,1,"Professional"]
   endif

   perform field[usrChosen1].chosen.assign[Duplicate.Profession]
endif
Honestly, I think that the problem is not the eval script in Professional, but something else that is killing it. I am thinking that it does not kill mine as my thing id is different.

If anything, people can learn a bit from the technique that I used above. For one thing, an example on how to compare things by the name. This is really handy if you only sometimes use something, in my case being that using the Arcane attribute is optional and therefore not always on the character. It would throw an error if it looked for that attribute and it was not there. This way it checks for a match in what the user selected and then does its job. This is great if you make up a list that does custom things.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #166 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,819

Old August 18th, 2016, 05:01 AM
Minor finding, from the new SPC2 the Edge: Scholar (Worm) doesn't appear to have the Source set on it so it's showing up everywhere.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Space 1889 (original file by Erich), Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Eventually
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first... although Pinnacle mentioned this might get an overhaul to SWADE so I may just wait for that first. If you just HAVE to have this now, though, just PM me)
zarlor is offline   #167 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 891

Old August 18th, 2016, 03:52 PM
Oh yeah, I noticed that. But I forgot to say something

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #168 Reply With Quote
Der Rote Baron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8

Old August 31st, 2016, 06:01 AM
Quite recently I updated Hero Lab with the 2nd Edition Superpower Companion Rules for SW. And it itself works quite nicely.

But all the other setting (Solomon Kane, Deadlands:Reloaded etc.) don't even show undersettings although I downloaded them again and the prpgram tells me that the download worked.

Additionally I get this every time I start Savage Worlds (NOT when I start Mutants & Masterminds):

The data files could not be loaded due to errors. Hero Lab will now attempt to load them in recovery mode. Once loaded, you can access the editor as normal to correct any errors.

The following errors occurred:

Thing 'edgHSFMGvB', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMGvB' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000
Thing 'edgHSFMHMB', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMHMB' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000
Thing 'edgHSFMPDA', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMPDA' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000
Thing 'edgHSFMQLk', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMQmL' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000
Thing 'edgHSFMSTo', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMSgT' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000
Thing 'edgHSFMSpL', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMSpL' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000
Thing 'edgHSFMXrL', with condition test currently at Initialize/10000 and its earliest possible resolution at Initialize/2100, bootstraps thing 'wpHSFMXRL' which must have its live state resolved by Initialize/2000

So, any idea what is wrong and how I can fix that?
Der Rote Baron is offline   #169 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,819

Old September 2nd, 2016, 06:56 PM
SPC2 is working because it's a core setting but all the others won't load because of the one setting you have that is failing, which I believe, based on those names, is High Space. That particular error is addressed in this thread. I thought High Space was fixed, though, so you may just try deleting it and then downloading it again to make sure you get the latest version (or use the fix mentioned in the thread I mention to fix the data file yourself if you are so inclined.)

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Space 1889 (original file by Erich), Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Eventually
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first... although Pinnacle mentioned this might get an overhaul to SWADE so I may just wait for that first. If you just HAVE to have this now, though, just PM me)
zarlor is offline   #170 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.