Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Valyar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 330

Old June 2nd, 2018, 07:14 AM
I would like to relocate the RW's database and other folders to a different disk with better performance. I don't see any way to do it, except using junctions (symbolic links) to the other volume.

%homepath%\Documents\Realm Works -> D:\Realm Works\Data
%appdata%\Roaming\LWD Technology, Inc\Realm Works -> D:\Realm Works

The only registry key I found is "Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Lone Wolf Development\Realm Works" and there is value "Install Path" that points to the some temp directory C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp\RealmWorks directory with single sync folder...

Do you know if there will be issues with this approach?

The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.
Valyar is online now   #1 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,687

Old June 2nd, 2018, 11:36 AM
Yes, there will be issues with that approach. But your user directory should be on the fastest drive you have so I think your are going about this backward anyway.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Valyar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 330

Old June 2nd, 2018, 12:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
Yes, there will be issues with that approach. But your user directory should be on the fastest drive you have so I think your are going about this backward anyway.
Care to elaborate what kind of issues?

Moving the profile directory cannot be done in supported way post-installation, the hassle is too much and gains are few. Also there are reasons why people should not do that. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rectory-to-a-d

The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.
Valyar is online now   #3 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,377

Old June 2nd, 2018, 01:06 PM
Realm Works already lets you change the Backups folder (the one that, by default, is in your Documents folder) and set how many it keeps. In the Launcher, go to Tools, Manage Database, Automatic Backups.

Parody is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,687

Old June 2nd, 2018, 03:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valyar View Post
Care to elaborate what kind of issues?

Moving the profile directory cannot be done in supported way post-installation, the hassle is too much and gains are few. Also there are reasons why people should not do that. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rectory-to-a-d
It just won't work.

You shouldn't move your profile directory off the drive it was created on. You should move that whole drive if you have a faster physical drive, assuming it has the capacity. You fastest drive should always be your boot drive and that should be where your profile goes.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Valyar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 330

Old June 2nd, 2018, 11:19 PM
To report the end of this exercise: Realm Works' data folders are moved without re-installation to another drive. Directory junctions are used to make it work. No registry changes are required.
I also had some time to fool around and made App-V package...

The overview:
  1. Create the new folder structure at the destination drive. RW should be off.
  2. Move the each folder via robocopy or cut-paste in Explorer (we assume the permissions on the file system are set properly. If you doubt, robocopy with /COPY:ALL switch will keep them)
  3. Create directory junction point as specified above by using command line (mklink /j). This will redirect transparently for the application all read/writes to the other drive.
  4. Start RW. Enjoy.

Next challenge is to make it portable without virtualization technologies, but I assume the program is having hard-coded values that will prevent me to enjoy it running from external device without installation.

Quote:
It just won't work.
I don't know what won't work, but as I stated above - I intended to move only RW's data files, not my whole profile.

Moving the home directory is pointless exercise, as described in the support article, and should be done in very specific cases and with the proper tools. Not in the middle of the life of existing installation.

The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.
Valyar is online now   #6 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,687

Old June 3rd, 2018, 02:41 AM
You're not the first person to try this. Its never gone well. You were warned.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Valyar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 330

Old June 3rd, 2018, 05:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
You're not the first person to try this. Its never gone well. You were warned.
You still don't say why and what went wrong.

Junction points are standard way to provide backward compatibility for applications that are hard coded to look for C:\Documents and Settings, instead of addressing the system variables. What I did was to take care of mechanism that is transparent for RW and move the database and the folder structure in Documents folder.

I was exploring all activity of RW with Sysinternal tools before doing so, and nothing leads me to believe that this will have any problem. I will work with that for week or two, but so far it works just fine.

The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.
Valyar is online now   #8 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,369

Old June 3rd, 2018, 07:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valyar View Post
You still don't say why and what went wrong.
Searching the forums will show you example of what went wrong

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Valyar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 330

Old June 3rd, 2018, 08:32 AM
The two threads I found are those:
http://forums.wolflair.com/showthrea...light=Relocate
http://forums.wolflair.com/showthrea...light=Relocate

Today I was doing data uploads, tested exports, imports, sync and other jobs and all workks fine so far. I also moved the temp directory where db log files are and the program is not misbehaving.

The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.
Valyar is online now   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.