Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Sword_of_Spirit
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 38

Old February 27th, 2016, 02:29 PM
If I want to start Realm Works from a .bat file, is there any reason I'd need to make sure it starts from the normal directory, or can I just start it on up from the .bat file that's just hanging out on my desktop?

It seemed to work fine, but I want to make sure don't end up with problems later.
Sword_of_Spirit is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Silveras
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521

Old February 27th, 2016, 02:43 PM
When you install RealmWorks, it offers to create a desktop icon in the setup wizard.

Since there are no command line parameters documented that I know of, is this not sufficient?
Silveras is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,258

Old February 27th, 2016, 04:09 PM
You're better off just creating a shortcut for the Realm Works program and then moving that to your desktop. This is what the installer does, but it's easy to create yourself if you chose not to have the installer do it.

As @Silveras said, there are no command line parameters to Realm Works, so there's no need or use for a batch file that I can think of.
rob is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,377

Old February 27th, 2016, 04:34 PM
One use case: a batch or other script file that starts all of the stuff you need for your gaming night. (RW, VTT, chat, various documents, plenty of other things I'm not thinking about.)

Parody is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
davidp
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,116

Old February 28th, 2016, 08:06 AM
Starting Realm Works from a BAT file in another directory is fine. Realm Works references off the starting executable's directory for finding certain things or it has other ways of finding files needed all of which don't matter on what is the current directory.
davidp is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Sword_of_Spirit
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 38

Old March 4th, 2016, 10:32 PM
Thanks all, good to know it works that way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parody View Post
One use case: a batch or other script file that starts all of the stuff you need for your gaming night. (RW, VTT, chat, various documents, plenty of other things I'm not thinking about.)
Yep, that's exactly what I'm doing.
Sword_of_Spirit is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.