Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Icehawke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 8

Old March 23rd, 2017, 11:46 AM
In the game I am attempting to create in HL, each race has a differing number of CP. I set the starting CP to zero in actor.str (along with Abilities which also are variable based on race).

Now I am attempting to determine how/where in thing_races.dat I can modify the CP and ability count for the selected race.

Here is what I have which does not work.
Code:
	<thing
	  id="racTerran"
	  name="Terran Human"
	  compset="Race"
	  isunique="yes"
	  description="These humans originate from the home world of humans, Terra. They gain +1 APP, +1 LUK, and -1 WIL. Terran Humans have 3 variance points and gain two Talents.">
	  <eval value="1" phase="PreTraits" priority="5000">
		<before name="Calc trtFinal"/><![CDATA[
		#traitbonus[attrApp] += 1
		#traitbonus[attrLuk] += 1
		#traitbonus[attrWil] -= 1
		~#acVariance = 3
		~#acTalents = 2
		]]></eval>
	</thing>
acVariance is the renamed acStartCP and acTalents is acStartAbi. Any guidance in this area would be appreciated.
Icehawke is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old March 23rd, 2017, 07:55 PM
Code:
herofield[acVariance].value = 3
herofield[acTalents].value = 2
Or, to show the full path to that field:
Code:
hero.child[actor].field[acVariance].value = 3
hero.child[actor].field[acTalents].value = 3
Here's an article that discusses what the dots and the elements between the dots mean: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=21663
Mathias is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Icehawke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 8

Old March 23rd, 2017, 09:07 PM
Would this also work for modifying starting cash via a talent/ability such as a "Wealthy" that gives some multiple of starting cash? I expect it would.
Icehawke is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Icehawke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 8

Old March 23rd, 2017, 09:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
Code:
herofield[acVariance].value = 3
herofield[acTalents].value = 2
Or, to show the full path to that field:
Code:
hero.child[actor].field[acVariance].value = 3
hero.child[actor].field[acTalents].value = 3
Here's an article that discusses what the dots and the elements between the dots mean: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=21663

This compiled and loaded with no errors, but it does not seem to affect the values. CP remains at 0 in the header, and abilities/talents show 0/0. Selecting a talent triggers the overspending validation error.
Icehawke is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Icehawke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 8

Old March 23rd, 2017, 09:27 PM
As an update, it works in the ability to modify starting cash. But it does not seem to affect acVariance and acTalents.

I had to set them to "derived" rather than "user".
Icehawke is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.