Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old July 9th, 2009, 01:27 PM
ok well I have made it forward to the next error

The data files could not be loaded due to the following errors:

File: tab_skills.dat (line 17) - Portal 'Domain' - Invalid unique id

which is coming from me adding the following

<portal
id="lbldomain"
style="lblSecond">
<label
text="Domain:">
</label>
</portal>

<portal
id="Domain"
style="editNormal">
<edit
field="domDomain:">
</edit>
</portal>

This is to allow people to use multi skills like a knowledge and id each time they take it with the spec. area that it covers.
SAbel is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old July 9th, 2009, 01:30 PM
Man I am not sure how you guys understand this stuff, I am not trained or have ever used this before I have made an excel sheet but its rather basic for the character and the pain in my head makes me wonder if I will ever get this stuff.
SAbel is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old July 9th, 2009, 01:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
after I change the "hide tab" from abilities to skills I get this error

The data files could not be loaded due to the following errors:

Syntax error in 'evalrule' script for Thing 'valAbility' (Eval Rule '#1') on line 9
-> Non-existent panel 'abilities' used by script
Syntax error in 'evalrule' script for Thing 'valAbility' (Eval Rule '#2') on line 9
You'll find these in thing_validate.dat - look for:
container.panelvalid[abilities] = 0

and change it to:
container.panelvalid[basics] = 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
-> Non-existent panel 'abilities' used by script
Syntax error in 'titlebar' script for Portal 'skSkills' on line 2
-> Non-existent thing 'resSkill' used by script
Syntax error in 'headertitle' script for Portal 'skSkills' on line 2
-> Non-existent thing 'resSkill' used by script
The resources page of the walkthrough:
http://hlkitwiki.wolflair.com/index.php5/Resources_(Savage)

Includes how to create resSkill

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
Syntax error in 'position' script for Layout 'skills' on line 10
-> Non-existent portal 'abAbility' used by script
It's probably referring to this layout (copied from tab_abilities.dat in the Skeleton files):

Code:
 
<layout
id="abilities">
<portalref portal="abAbility" taborder="10"/>
<!-- This script sizes and positions the layout and its child visual elements. -->
<position><![CDATA[
~freeze our table in advancement mode to disable adding new choices
~Note: All freezing must be done *before* any positioning is performed.
if (state.iscreate = 0) then
portal[abAbility].freeze = 1
endif
~position and size the table to span the full layout; it will only use the
~vertical space that it actually needs
perform portal[abAbility].autoplace
]]></position>
</layout>
Notice that there's a mention of "abAbility" at the top, but then there are two more mentions inside, you have to catch all three.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
I get this error
The data files could not be loaded due to the following errors:

File: traits.str (line 218) - Component 'Ability' (dynamic tag) - Tag 'Ability' not defined
One or more timing errors were identified. Please review the timing report and correct the errors. You can access the report under the 'Develop' menu or by clicking this link.

I am at a loss as to what wrong.
You'll find this in the traits.str file.

Does line 218 say:
Code:
perform forward[Ability.?]
and about a dozen lines above it, did you change:
Code:
<identity group="Ability"/>
to something else?
Mathias is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old July 9th, 2009, 01:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
ok well I have made it forward to the next error

The data files could not be loaded due to the following errors:

File: tab_skills.dat (line 17) - Portal 'Domain' - Invalid unique id

which is coming from me adding the following

<portal
id="lbldomain"
style="lblSecond">
<label
text="Domain:">
</label>
</portal>

<portal
id="Domain"
style="editNormal">
<edit
field="domDomain:">
</edit>
</portal>

This is to allow people to use multi skills like a knowledge and id each time they take it with the spec. area that it covers.
It's the colons ( : ) in your field name that it's complaining about.

field="domDomain:">

should be:

field="domDomain">

Last edited by Mathias; July 9th, 2009 at 01:37 PM. Reason: It thought I wanted to write a smilie.
Mathias is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old July 9th, 2009, 01:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
Man I am not sure how you guys understand this stuff, I am not trained or have ever used this before I have made an excel sheet but its rather basic for the character and the pain in my head makes me wonder if I will ever get this stuff.
I worked for Lone Wolf as a part-time contractor since early '06, adding things to the d20 files (all the Pathfinder modules, many of the races, most of the psionic classes, etc.), so that gave me a lot of experience with writing scripts. Before that, I had written a few ArmyBuilder and CardVault files, which gave me experience with the programming language (HeroLab, ArmyBuilder, and CardVault are based on the same custom programming language and XML setup, so experience with one helps with the others).

You aren't alone. Programming every option possible in a role-playing game into a program is a very complex operation. There have been a few days where I've needed to stop work around the middle of the afternoon, take the rest of the day off (making up the time later) or switch to a different project, and come back to it after a good night's sleep.

I ran into the same sort of errors you're running into, so you're not alone in that, either.

I really applaud you for taking this project on. You're also providing a service to the next person to try it. I can edit the wiki, so now I know a few places where the walkthrough wasn't clear enough, and tripped you up, and I'll edit them to make them clearer for the next person (it'll probably happen Friday afternoon or Monday - I need to get back to my regular work now).
Mathias is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old July 9th, 2009, 06:17 PM
Okay is there a way to just add in a tab not change the tab. I would rather try that and add materials then attempt to find all these little areas and change them but if this is the way it has to be done I shall try again (hey 7 is a lucky number correct LOL)

Thanks for the encouragement I need it, I just do not want to take up to much time and would like to have a good chunk of material finished before Gencon so that I can use up even more time trying to get this correct LOL!

I never thought of someone lerning from my mistakes (which means there is a lot here to learn from

I wish you guys lived in Ohio b/c then I would feed you or something for all the help, I am a "hands on visual learn type" I start reading all this and I have to pull out high lighters and every thing to try and figure this stuff out and still not close!

Again thanks for everything, Mgehl you have been a God send! Tomorrow I shall wake up and try again on changing that tab, So Have a great day I ll post either way!

I am going to start from scratch, maybe I ll try putting in some advantages/disadvantages or out in clan info under races.

CYA
Sean
SAbel is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old July 9th, 2009, 07:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
Okay is there a way to just add in a tab not change the tab. I would rather try that and add materials then attempt to find all these little areas and change them but if this is the way it has to be done I shall try again (hey 7 is a lucky number correct LOL)
If you take the tab_abilities.dat file, and copy it to tab_skills.dat, the original will still be around, so everything that points to abilities won't need to be changed.

Then, you proceed with the modifications to tab_skills.dat, changing everything in it over to use skills.
Mathias is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old July 9th, 2009, 08:43 PM
Ok I did that and no errors but also no skill tab showing up the skills are still listed on the basic tab. I am guessing I have to add some files but what and were I am not sure.
I put in a screen shot.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Screen shot.pdf (606.0 KB, 3 views)
SAbel is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old July 9th, 2009, 08:48 PM
first I went to tags.1st file and added in the "hide tab"
<value id="skills"/>

then went to Bootstrap.1st and removed this so skills are no longer on basic tab.
<!-- Add all skills to the actor -->
<enmasse><![CDATA[
component.Skill
]]></enmasse>

it worked had this error but still could make it into program

Attempt to access non-existent child pick 'skMelee' from script
Location: 'eval' script for Component 'WeapMelee' (Eval Script 'Calc wpNetAtk') near line 2

Last edited by SAbel; July 9th, 2009 at 08:56 PM. Reason: forgot to type in a part
SAbel is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old July 9th, 2009, 08:59 PM
I am not sure if this goes in the Bootstrap.1st file but it is with it in the wiki I added it after the "enmasse"

<component
id="Skill"
name="Skill"
autocompset="no"
panellink="skills">
...
</component>
SAbel is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.