Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

1337mith

Old September 27th, 2017, 05:16 PM
Good evening,

My Windows 10 machine had to do a forced restart while I was in a Hero Lab portfolio for my Pathfinder game. When the machine came back up Hero LAb acted like it had never been activated and my portfolio will not open stating:
"Error reading specified file. Please verify that the file exists and is a valid Hero Lab file."

Is there a way to recover the data? It has my PC's for the game I have been running for two years...
1337mith is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
charlieluce

Old September 27th, 2017, 07:50 PM
Can you copy the portfolio to a new file? Portfolios are Zip files, so if you copy it with a .zip extension you should be able to look at the insides, or at least confirm that it's corrupted.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Second Edition
Currently Playing:
Pathfinder First Edition, Star Trek Adventures
Former HL Games: D&D 4e & 5e, Mutants & Masterminds 2E & 3E, Savage Worlds
charlieluce is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Volunteer Data File Contributor

Old September 28th, 2017, 03:58 AM
{nods} Worse comes to worse, you may be able to grab the HTML or XML output and re-enter everything.
Duggan is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
1337mith

Old September 28th, 2017, 05:46 AM
@charlieluce, Thank you for that tip! I copied the portfolio and appended the .zip extension to change the file type; however, when attempting to open it I receive the following error: "The Compressed (zipped) folder 'file name' is invalid."

@Duggan, Thank you for the advice. How would you recommend I go about doing that?
1337mith is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Duggan

Old September 28th, 2017, 07:35 AM
Oof... yeah, that sounds like a corrupted archive. My method requires you to be able to open the archive file up still.