Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
chiefweasel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,322

Old August 18th, 2009, 04:43 AM
could you send along the stats of the armor you are using, before trying to add the spikes and i"ll give it a shot as well.

The only problems that I have run into with spikes is when the magic bonus exceeds the limit of +5.
chiefweasel is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old August 18th, 2009, 05:34 AM
+1 Breastplate with +1 Armor spikes.
Lawful_g is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
chiefweasel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,322

Old August 18th, 2009, 07:09 AM
Ah, I see the error now. That wasn't there before the latest patch. I have attached spikes to armor in the past without a problem, so something new has cropped up. I guess the tech guys will need to check this one out. I tried to copy the error but couldnt figure a way to do it. Sorry about that.
chiefweasel is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
bodrin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,265

Old August 22nd, 2009, 01:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawful_g View Post
Oh, something else that would make life easier? A single entry for "Smite" that is then modified based on what your abilities are. There are lots of smites granted from different sources (like paladin, blackguard, celestial template, domain powers etc), and I am currently adding a feat (Extra Smiting) that adds 2 to any of them that you have, which is a pain to repeat code for all of them multiple times. Might simplify things in the future.
I have already coded Extra smiting from the completer warrior book Lawful g heres the working code in full.

I just copied and pasted the same script line then altered the smite thing.
I do agree that it is a pain though!

Eval script Post-levels (users) timing 10000
Code:
hero.childfound[xFieSmite].field[hTotal].value += 2
    hero.childfound[xCelSmite].field[hTotal].value += 2 
hero.childfound[cPalSmite1].field[hTotal].value += 2
    hero.childfound[cBlkSmite1].field[hTotal].value += 2
Pre-reqs
Code:
if (child[Attack].field[tAtkBase].value >= 4) then
   @valid = 1
   endif
Hope this helps!!
bodrin is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old August 22nd, 2009, 09:07 PM
Thanks Bodrin. Shouldn't there be another pre-requisite for having an ability to smite?

For what it is worth, I also did this feat, and I found a total of 9 different smite abilities. 7 of them were already in HL:

cPalSmite1
xFieSmite
cPfChvSmit
cBlkSmite1
cBlkPalSm1
cdDestSmit
xCelSmite

And two were part of classes I entered myself:
cFRaSmite
cKSwSmite1

It is the addition of more smite abilities by future classes that worries me. Every time I add a new class that does this will I have to revise the feat?
Lawful_g is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old August 22nd, 2009, 10:36 PM
At this point, what you probably want to do is replace the various versions of smite, adding a new User tag like User.Smite.

Then, your feat can use a foreach test to find everything that is a class special and is a smite ability:

Code:
foreach pick in hero where "component.BaseSpecial & User.Smite"
then do everything that modifies the ability from within the foreach.

Also, on a quick script on each smite ability, forward the Smite tag to the hero:

Code:
 
perform hero.forward[User.Smite]
That way your feat can test for the presence of that tag on the hero, rather than searching for each version of smite:

(in an expression requirement):

Code:
 
hero.tagis[User.Smite] <> 0
I'm afraid it's not going to happen soon, but I'll add a tag (probably Hero.Smite) to the various smite abilities and add the same behaviors. When that happens, just replace all the User.Smite tags with Hero.Smite. and delete your replacements.

Last edited by Mathias; August 22nd, 2009 at 10:42 PM. Reason: Added info for the prereq
Mathias is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old August 22nd, 2009, 10:50 PM
Thanks mghel
Lawful_g is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old March 18th, 2010, 09:49 AM
Mathias, did you ever think about non-magical mods to armor? I've come back to that.
Lawful_g is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.