Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
rwap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4

Old December 11th, 2019, 12:14 PM
Hi

I've got three realms, one of which is a copy of another. I've done some work on the 'child' realm which I tried to export and import into the 'parent' realm. The import didn't work at first, the .xml version needed changing in the file which I did and then it worked.

It seems that the imported realm caused chaos because of tags.

What is the best way to clean the data before import?
rwap is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
JustinThomason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 273

Old December 11th, 2019, 01:23 PM
My understanding is best practice is to only ever make changes to your "parent" realm and then export from that to import the changes into your "child" realm. Trying to go the other direction causes issues.

That said, I've only done minimal work with the whole export/import function.
JustinThomason is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Ualaa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada.
Posts: 642

Old December 11th, 2019, 05:21 PM
I've not used this, but it seemed really useful so I saved it:




I currently have 4 realm templates.

Blank - Completely empty. ALL default categories/tags are disabled or deleted.
Structure - This contains all the categories/tags all my realms use. I don't use any of the defaults.
Gamesystem - This contains all the game specific categories/tags my realms use, PLUS the import from Structure.
World - This contains all the world lore etc. that all my realms use, PLUS the import from Structure.

When I want to create a new realm, I first COPY the blank realm.
Next I open that realm, and import a STRUCTURE-ONLY export from the Structure realm.
Then I import a FULL export from the World and/or PF2 realms.

ALL imports require using advanced options and checking the boxes for OVERWRITE conflicts.

ALL exports have "preserve ownership" checked. This is super important.

If you try to create any topics in the totally blank realm RW WILL CRASH. Make sure you have some sort of category for every possible section.

If I make a change to any of the template realms and re-export, all my changes easily import to my active realm.

Example:
Partway through creating a realm, I realized I needed another snippet in a category. I saved and synced my current realm, switch to the Structure realm, and made my change. Exported preserving ownership, imported to my current realm overwriting conflicts, and the category now has the additional snippet. Any previously created topics require a resync or manual add to get the new snippet, but all newly created topics afterwards have it.

It took quite a bit of trial and error to get this all to work, but it was well worth the effort.
Ualaa is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Syrkres
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 23

Old January 1st, 2020, 11:57 AM
When doing a custom export, do you have to "TAG" every snipet or just the parent element?
Syrkres is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,234

Old January 1st, 2020, 02:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrkres View Post
When doing a custom export, do you have to "TAG" every snipet or just the parent element?
You tag which topics/articles you want exported.

You don't need to mark each snippet in every single topic/article.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Syrkres
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 23

Old January 2nd, 2020, 08:43 AM
Thanks Farling!
Syrkres is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,655

Old January 2nd, 2020, 10:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrkres View Post
When doing a custom export, do you have to "TAG" every snipet or just the parent element?
There is a bulk tagging feature to do this in one step. Create a view and add all the stuff you want to export and then bulk tag them.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Syrkres
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 23

Old January 2nd, 2020, 12:18 PM
Ok, in manage => tags I do not see an "Export" tag, yet when I go to Tag (on right had side of an object, and Click "Assign Tags to Topic" I see an "Export" tag with two sub-tags(which I think I created but don't remember).

Do I create "export" tags only when exporting or do I create them under Manage=>TAgs and then assign them?

I'm looking to create a Tag for "Custom Export" which I can assign when I want to export a few elements/objects?
Syrkres is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,655

Old January 2nd, 2020, 06:20 PM
You cannot create the tags except through the export process.

Start an export, choose partial export, create the tag, exit the export dialog, create a view and assign the topics you want to export. Use bulk tagging to assign the tag to all the topics in the view. Go back to the export dialog and go through the partial export process.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.