Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Dgrm44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 104

Old December 2nd, 2012, 04:16 PM
Does Army Builder support the Battletech game system?
Dgrm44 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
jlong05
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glendale, AZ USA
Posts: 277
Send a message via MSN to jlong05

Old December 3rd, 2012, 05:14 AM
I believe that the current Battletech game still uses a weight measurement for each unit. At its core, yes, AB could support that assignment, but given the high level of customization that is possible in Battletech, you would run into issues with ensuring crits/tons are available. You could do it potentially though.

It would be an interesting investment of time to see how the crit management and space allowances could be managed within the AB structure.

But for a basic game management with ONLY approved Mech models and no customization at all, you could easily do that in AB.

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
jlong05 is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Dgrm44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 104

Old December 3rd, 2012, 02:11 PM
When you say easily....exactly "how easily" are we talking? :-)
I would be happy with just the published Mechs being supported at this point.
Dgrm44 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
jlong05
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glendale, AZ USA
Posts: 277
Send a message via MSN to jlong05

Old December 5th, 2012, 05:11 AM
Well, at the basic level(no customization) you could enter each mech indicating its 'weight' as its point cost. Then add all weapons as weapons to the unit, etc. Probably something I could do in very short order(a few days to a week) if I had access to all the tech readouts. I guess if there is serious interest from the gaming community for this, I could get to work on a framework for the game which would at least be a start.

One note, this would NOT be able to replace the mech sheets used for damage allocation. I am not aware of a way in AB to handle that for armor, etc.. This would simply be a tool for creating units that can be included in an overall weight class being played.

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.

Last edited by jlong05; December 5th, 2012 at 05:13 AM.
jlong05 is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
EODGunner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1

Old January 20th, 2013, 09:44 AM
I have a few years programming experience, and from that, I can say that this project is not only possible, but also, very easy to do, provided the programming language supports it.


For the armor, it's a simple matrix of circles or boxes for how many units of armor. As far as the crit slots, just make it a drag and drop system. Either that, or since it's based off of placement and 12 slots, you can easily make it to where it fills from the top down as long as the selected position has the slots available.

If you need help, information, or someone to bounce ideas off of, let me know.
EODGunner is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
ratboy
Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cedar Grove, NJ USA
Posts: 85
Send a message via ICQ to ratboy Send a message via AIM to ratboy

Old January 22nd, 2013, 03:24 PM
Yes, the project has been in development for several years. I can't really say anything else about it.

The amount of data entry is massive.

In the mean time, you can use Solaris Skunkworks.

Last edited by ratboy; January 22nd, 2013 at 03:34 PM.
ratboy is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
ratboy
Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cedar Grove, NJ USA
Posts: 85
Send a message via ICQ to ratboy Send a message via AIM to ratboy

Old January 22nd, 2013, 03:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlong05 View Post
I believe that the current Battletech game still uses a weight measurement for each unit. At its core, yes, AB could support that assignment, but given the high level of customization that is possible in Battletech, you would run into issues with ensuring crits/tons are available. You could do it potentially though.
.
You can use Battle Value, Weight or Cost as force construction points.
ratboy is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Russell
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 254

Old February 23rd, 2013, 10:35 PM
I wrote some Battletech files for AB2 many years ago (including an HTML Mech output sheet extension - armour circles and all)... There didn't seem to be any interest in it so I never bothered updating it for AB3.
Russell is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.