Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,373

Old February 16th, 2018, 12:55 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valyar View Post
Ah, I got your point now. Definitely a viable workaround! Thanks!

I hope when we get the next version there will be features as multi realm opening and detachable tabs...
It also means that when you have both exported realms in your third (live) realm, then you can get topics auto-linked between the rules and the adventure :-)

That's something that would never be possible across multiple realms.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Mystic Lemur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 252

Old February 17th, 2018, 06:42 PM
It's not really a workaround, it's more like how the program is intended to work. You can combine realms/rules/adventures in whole or in part to make your own custom world.
Mystic Lemur is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
Merion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Germany, so please bear with my English
Posts: 358

Old February 26th, 2018, 11:53 AM
I'm the tech noob here, but I'm curious: wouldn't it be possible to open it a second time in a virtual machine?

Sure, one of them has to be offline, if you're on the same account, but still...
Merion is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 778

Old February 26th, 2018, 02:52 PM
Merging stuff wouldn't be possible with bought content then? Or would it? Well hopefully we see soon

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,688

Old February 26th, 2018, 03:03 PM
Assuming the CM content works like the free stuff LWD has already posted it will merge into other realms just fine. What makes you think it wouldn't?

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,257

Old February 26th, 2018, 05:16 PM
Just be careful trying to mess with this. It's entirely possible to get your realms out of sync when playing on multiple machines which will result in you needing to re-download the realms from the server or throwing your server version out and using the local.

Can be a real PITA on a slow connection.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,688

Old February 26th, 2018, 05:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daplunk View Post
Just be careful trying to mess with this. It's entirely possible to get your realms out of sync when playing on multiple machines which will result in you needing to re-download the realms from the server or throwing your server version out and using the local.

Can be a real PITA on a slow connection.
I treat my home desktop as my "master" machine. It is the only machine I do imports or create new realms on. My work desktop and laptop are used for editing realms and for running games respectively only.

If you always do something like this and sync whenever you edit you should have no issues.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
Cid
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 61

Old April 12th, 2020, 09:21 AM
I need to fix an older realm, but all the mistakes i made with it are still there and impossible to correct. To fix all this properly, i need to just make it new. I'd like to just open it somehow and copy/paste everything.

This was my first realm and i did a lot of learning on it, i'd still like to use the contents, but with all the errors it's just impossible. I'd rather not have to copy/paste into Open Office or Notepad, as that seems like a bit much.
Cid is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,688

Old April 12th, 2020, 12:11 PM
If you can't do an export there really is no option inside RW.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
nightpanda2810
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 173

Old April 14th, 2020, 07:32 AM
2 computers and a software KVM like InputDirector. This I've done.
Or a virtual machine on one computer that lets you copy/paste into/out of the VM.

The realm-works output tool by Farling may work as well.

Realmworks Template Management
nightpanda2810 is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.