Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old April 26th, 2008, 05:34 AM
Have the improved familiars been intentionally left out of HL for some reason? To my knowledge they are in the SRD and should be included. I don't know how you would do the verification for them with the improved familiar feat though... that looks a bit tricky
huntercc is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old April 28th, 2008, 03:03 PM
huntercc wrote:
>
>
> Have the improved familiars been intentionally left out of HL for some
> reason? To my knowledge they are in the SRD and should be included. I
> don't know how you would do the verification for them with the improved
> familiar feat though... that looks a bit tricky


The verification bit is easy - the only problem is the time it takes to
enter the data.


When we were preparing the familiar stuff for inclusion in v2.0, we
added all the animals and all the dire animals for use with that.
However, the other hundreds of animals in the SRD still have to be
incorporated - it's on our list of things to do.


If you want to use the improved familiar races, you can simply add them
as a race using the editor, then mark the race as being allowed as an
arcane familiar.


Hope this helps,


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old May 10th, 2008, 09:53 AM
I almost have the first one working (shocker lizard). I only have two questions:

1) What's the best way to determine that the active hero is actually somebody's arcane familiar? What I've done is look for existence of the Hero.NoAdvance tag. I doubt this is correct, but it appears to work.

2) How do you determine how many Arcane Spellcaster Levels a hero has? I mean actual class levels, not spell levels. For example, if I had some wacky combination of Wiz1/Sor1/Clr1 that would be two arcane spellcaster levels.
huntercc is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old May 10th, 2008, 11:26 AM
FYI - I solved my second question by doing the following:
Code:
if ( master.childfound[cArcFamil].field[CompLevel].value >= 5 ) then
  @valid = 1
  endif
huntercc is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old June 12th, 2008, 05:42 PM
I have a complete data file for a slightly modified version of the Improved Familiar feat (changed the pre-req for it a bit) as well as having all of the acceptable familiars that are listed in the DMG.

I'm attaching it here for any who are interested. Comments/criticisms are welcome.
huntercc is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old June 23rd, 2008, 11:50 AM
huntercc wrote:
>
>
> I almost have the first one working (shocker lizard). I only have two
> questions:
>
> 1) What's the best way to determine that the active hero is actually
> somebody's arcane familiar? What I've done is look for existence of the
> Hero.NoAdvance tag. I doubt this is correct, but it appears to work.


The best way is to test for the "CompIs.cArcFamil" on the hero. That tag
will only be present if you're an arcane familiar, not if you're an
animal companion or something similar.


> 2) How do you determine how many Arcane Spellcaster Levels a hero has? I
> mean actual class levels, not spell levels. For example, if I had some
> wacky combination of Wiz1/Sor1/Clr1 that would be two arcane spellcaster
> levels.


You'd need to go through all the classes on the hero and count how many
of them are arcane spellcasters. For example:

~ We start with 0 arcane spellcaster levels
var total as number
total = 0

~ Go through all classes on the hero that are arcane spellcasters
foreach pick in hero where "component.BaseClHelp & CasterSrc.Arcane"

~ Add this classes number of levels to our total
total += each.field[cMagicLev].value

~ Go on to our next class
nexteach


Hope this helps,

--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Dastir
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 48

Old September 22nd, 2008, 05:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen
The best way is to test for the "CompIs.cArcFamil" on the hero. That tag
will only be present if you're an arcane familiar, not if you're an
animal companion or something similar.
I am definitely missing something here, and I think it it all revolves around tags. What exactly is the right way to "test for the "CompIs.cArcFamil" on the hero"?

This code
Code:
if (CompIs.cArcFamil) then
  notify "Yes"
else
  notify "No"
endif
yields the following error when I test the thing:

"Syntax error in 'eval' script for Thing 'drPseudo' (Eval Script '1') on line 1
-> Reference to undeclared variable: "CompIs'
Dastir is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old September 23rd, 2008, 02:02 AM
if(tagis[CompIs.cArcFamil] <> 0) then

is what you're missing, if I remember the syntax offhand.
Mathias is online now   #8 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old September 26th, 2008, 03:24 PM
Dastir wrote:
>
>
> *Colen wrote:*
>
> The best way is to test for the "CompIs.cArcFamil" on the hero. That tag
> will only be present if you're an arcane familiar, not if you're an
> animal companion or something similar.
>
>
>
> I am definitely missing something here, and I think it it all revolves
> around tags. What exactly is the right way to "test for the
> "CompIs.cArcFamil" on the hero"?


if (hero.tagis[CompIs.cArcFamil] <> 0) then
notify "Yes"
else
notify "No"
endif


Should do what you're after.


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Colen is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Kendall-DM
Spy
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Van Nuys, California
Posts: 1,220

Old August 27th, 2011, 02:03 AM
While searching over Improved Familiar I came across this. I've been having a problem with looking for Arcane Spellcaster Levels when I have a prestige class that adds to those caster levels. Put that badly, I'm sure. Let me explain that a bit better.

In HL, it appears that the Improved Familiar looks at only Wizard/Sorcerer levels when determining validity. I have a prestige class with 10 levels that can be entered by character level 3, and that prestige class gives additional levels to one arcane class for each of its levels. So, what I have is a Wizard 3rd/Prestige Class 8th (11 arcane caster levels overall), but HL only recognizes 3 of them (the wizard levels) for the purposes of choosing an improved familiar. What I need is to be able to determine the total arcane levels of the hero, but I need to be able to do that on the improved familiar pick prerequisites rather than in the companion level. I can't use the code that's here, because it is trying to add up all the caster levels of the familiar instead of the master. I would like to find a way to determine the master's arcane caster levels in a script on the improved familiar. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
Kendall-DM is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.