Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Mutants & Masterminds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
craigbert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Old August 27th, 2018, 03:29 PM
Hi All,

How do I add powers to HL that are included the M&M 3rd edition manual, but not in HL?
For example:
Psi-Knife and Psionic Invisibility are not present.
I am open to adding them myself, but I don't see a quick and easy what to do that.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.
craigbert is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 904

Old August 28th, 2018, 05:26 PM
The entry in the Heroes Handbook tells you how the Power is built; just use the same base Power and Modifiers as in the listing and name the Power in the character accordingly.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Playtest (Doomsday Dawn)
On Hiatus: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently Playing: Mutants & Masterminds 3E, D&D 4e
Former Games: Savage Worlds, M&M 2E
charlieluce is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,209

Old August 29th, 2018, 05:44 AM
Adding built powers in the editor is not immediately intuitive, but if you copy a similar power in the editor, you can see how they bootstrap the modifiers. After that, it's just a matter of giving it a unique ID, modifying the power's parameters, and then saving the .user file.
Duggan is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
craigbert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Old September 2nd, 2018, 02:14 PM
Thanks to both of you for clarifying that.
I will see if I can get that to work and let you know if I have any followup questions.

Thanks!
craigbert is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
craigbert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Old September 3rd, 2018, 04:20 PM
Thanks for the reply @charlieluce and @Duggan. I thought I had said thanks sooner, but I guess the reply didn't save for some reason or maybe it hasn't been approved yet?

So have tried building the custom power.
In the manual it shows:
Quote:
Damage 8, Penetrating 4, Accurate 4, Resisted by Will * 24 points
I added the Penetrating, Accurate, and Resisted by will (alternate resistance 1 will)
I haven't added Damage and when I save it shows a total cost of "10" and the summary in gray on the power screen shows:
DC 16; Accurate 4: +8; Alternate Resistance Will; Penetrating 4.
The only entry for damage that I see is under "Alternate Effect"
When I add it there and click the right arrow to make it "8" it adds a green sub-point to the power that says
Quote:
Damage: Damage 8 DC 23
The total cost then goes up from 10 to 11.
Is this right?



Thanks.
craigbert is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 904

Old September 3rd, 2018, 06:31 PM
Damage is the base Power to which you are adding the Modifiers (note "Damage" in the blue header bar), so you increase it where it says Power Ranks at the top left (currently at 1 in your picture). Increase that to 8 and you will see the Psi-Knife you expect.

You'll want to use Alternate Effects to add any additional choices of Offensive Powers you want on the character; they don't modify the base Power.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Playtest (Doomsday Dawn)
On Hiatus: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently Playing: Mutants & Masterminds 3E, D&D 4e
Former Games: Savage Worlds, M&M 2E
charlieluce is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
craigbert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Old September 3rd, 2018, 08:20 PM
Thanks @charlieluce!

That did it!
craigbert is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.