Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Mutants & Masterminds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
atlarman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to atlarman Send a message via Yahoo to atlarman

Old September 27th, 2010, 06:42 AM
I find myself in a position where it may be best to add an optional feat (extra attack) from the mastermind's manual (page 110)which costs 5 point/rank,however the custom feat option in HL is set to 1 points/rank.... How Do increase to its proper cost without i increasing the feats rank? same question for a custum power extra??
atlarman is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,261

Old September 27th, 2010, 07:18 AM
My installation of Hero Lab is on my computer back home, but I think there's a setting in the editor for feats that lets you set the points it costs. I know there is for Extras. If you haven't figured it out by the time I get home, I'll write it up and post it for you.
Duggan is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
atlarman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to atlarman Send a message via Yahoo to atlarman

Old September 27th, 2010, 08:21 AM
thanks duggan this forum is the best.....you believe in trying to help without making a person feel like a moron. (which when its comes to some things lately, I feel like one.)
atlarman is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,261

Old September 28th, 2010, 07:54 PM
*facepalm* And yes, you can set the cost of Custom Extras. No, you can't set the cost of Custom Feats. Mea culpa. Mea maximus culpa
Duggan is online now   #4 Reply With Quote
atlarman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to atlarman Send a message via Yahoo to atlarman

Old September 29th, 2010, 05:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duggan View Post
*facepalm* And yes, you can set the cost of Custom Extras. No, you can't set the cost of Custom Feats. Mea culpa. Mea maximus culpa
so.... whats a guy to do with optional feats like extra attack from the masterninds manual?? page 110

Last edited by atlarman; September 29th, 2010 at 08:19 AM. Reason: fixed scrambled text
atlarman is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,261

Old September 29th, 2010, 06:49 AM
Well, that particular thing is labeled as a power, not a feat, so it could be said to be handled right there. It should be very easy for you to copy it over, or I can write it up and post it here. Or I can see if I can rig something to adjust the text based on ranks in the feat. Something like that probably ought to be done for Bullet Time anyhow. *shrug* It's outside of my current understanding of the system, but it might yet be doable.
Duggan is online now   #6 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,261

Old September 29th, 2010, 06:54 AM
Oh... or you can use the extant Extra Attacks power which is included with the Ultimate Power data pack. :-p Occam's Razor strikes again.

I did find a way to make a feat cost multiple points. If you look at the Minions feat, there's a bit in the Eval scripts where it sets "field[PPCost].value += field[ftBaseRank].value" if the Fanatical option is set. Just put that line in by itself under a feat's evaluation, and multiply the base rank value by the amount of additional points you want to charge. For example, for Bullet time, you could add the line, "field[PPCost].value += field[ftBaseRank].value * 2" and remove the part of the description which references "for every three ranks".

Last edited by Duggan; September 29th, 2010 at 06:57 AM.
Duggan is online now   #7 Reply With Quote
atlarman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to atlarman Send a message via Yahoo to atlarman

Old September 29th, 2010, 08:10 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duggan View Post
Well, that particular thing is labeled as a power, nack is a power??ot a feat, so it could be said to be handled right there. It should be very easy for you to copy it over, or I can write it up and post it here. Or I can see if I can rig something to adjust the text based on ranks in the feat. Something like that probably ought to be done for Bullet Time anyhow. *shrug* It's outside of my current understanding of the system, but it might yet be doable.
Ok I'm lost- again-you mean IN HERO LAB extra attack?? cause in masterminds manual its under "optional feats"
atlarman is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
atlarman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to atlarman Send a message via Yahoo to atlarman

Old September 29th, 2010, 08:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duggan View Post
Oh... or you can use the extant Extra Attacks power which is included with the Ultimate Power data pack. :-p Occam's Razor strikes again.

I did find a way to make a feat cost multiple points. If you look at the Minions feat, there's a bit in the Eval scripts where it sets "field[PPCost].value += field[ftBaseRank].value" if the Fanatical option is set. Just put that line in by itself under a feat's evaluation, and multiply the base rank value by the amount of additional points you want to charge. For example, for Bullet time, you could add the line, "field[PPCost].value += field[ftBaseRank].value * 2" and remove the part of the description which references "for every three ranks".
meh - ill pass there...im not a programmer lol
atlarman is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,261

Old September 29th, 2010, 01:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlarman View Post
Ok I'm lost- again-you mean IN HERO LAB extra attack?? cause in masterminds manual its under "optional feats"
In both, it's built as a Power. The Optional Feats heading is only referring to the small paragraph stating that some of the optional feats in 4 relate to Attacks of Opportunity. They start a new (same size as Attacks of Opportunity) heading to move from Attacks of Opportunity to Multiple Attacks.

As further evidence, the Multiple Attacks thingie is set up as a Power block.

Anyhow, like you said, you can find it under the Mastermind's Manual Chapter 8 heading in the Character Settings in the Masterminds Manual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by atlarman View Post
meh - ill pass there...im not a programmer lol
It's really just cut-and-paste in this incident, but since it already exists as a Power, there shouldn't be any issues.
Duggan is online now   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.