Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Feature Requests

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PharaohTet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3

Old September 21st, 2018, 11:05 AM
This is probably a longshot, but I thought I'd throw it out there....

An option to use/work with "layered" images as a snippet.

It would be magnificent if we could add map views that allowed the user to show/hide things like weather, prevailing winds, politics, etc.

<and yes, I can take NO for an answer...>
PharaohTet is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,611

Old September 21st, 2018, 02:29 PM
This is supposed to be a feature of existing smart images. I've never had much luck using it.


Load a smart image. From there click the hammer and wrench ico at the top of the topic pane, or press F7, there should be a menu item for Overlay Image -> Load Overlay Image (plus some disabled stuff). The only thing that has ever worked at all for me is a transparent gif the exact same number of pixels and shape of the base image. From there you're on your own. I simply couldn't do anything with it and all my questions to the devs went unanswered.

If you do have any luck making it work please post about it.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,232

Old September 21st, 2018, 02:47 PM
The layering works but its only layers one layer over another. So one layer with GM Info over the Player Map for example.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,611

Old September 21st, 2018, 07:08 PM
Could you get it to work without crashing on a regular basis?

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is online now   #4 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,232

Old September 21st, 2018, 10:20 PM
Never had it crash tbh. I have it setup on almost every map.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Bidmaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 468

Old September 22nd, 2018, 04:11 AM
His map is probably too high a resolution for his computer resources.
Bidmaron is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,611

Old September 22nd, 2018, 07:37 AM
I use 4k by 4k pixel maps because anything smaller looks even worse on my monitor. I am using hardware made in 2017 and my players shouldn't have to squint to see RW's maps on my 4k display.

But I'm sure you'll again try to tell me how much more you know about computer software than I do. After lecturing me on codecs and the sending of uncompressed video over ethernet the last time. But please go on. I never tire of being told I'm wrong by someone who knows less than I do.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is online now   #7 Reply With Quote
Bidmaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 468

Old September 22nd, 2018, 08:46 AM
Oh, didn't pay enough attention to realize you were the one with the issue, kbs. Sorry. I am certain you are doing everything absolutely right and the software that works for daplunk just won't work for you, maybe because it recognizes your brilliance and just refuses to work.
Bidmaron is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,130

Old September 22nd, 2018, 02:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
I use 4k by 4k pixel maps
Isn't there a published recommendation not to use more than 3k by 3k maps for performance (and crashing) reasons?

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,611

Old September 22nd, 2018, 04:27 PM
Whatever it is. I get the warning and resize to make RW shut up.

All the images look terrible so I'm trying to not put any in any more.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is online now   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.