Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AussieDM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15

Old September 24th, 2016, 08:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mergon View Post
High elf is in Hero Lab files. I think that's what you are asking anyways.
Yeah, but how do I access them in the Editor? I'm trying to create a half-elf variant from SCAG as it's not an available option in the community pack but damned if I can figure it out.

I've found the moon elf in the SCAG files so I've been able to figure out how to add the cantrip ability, but only as a new race rather than sub-race option to the half elf.

Man this stuff is confusing
AussieDM is offline   #231 Reply With Quote
Mergon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 788

Old September 24th, 2016, 09:04 PM
Again, I don't know if this is what you are looking for, but srElfHigh is the high elf under subraces but I don't feel that is what you are asking for.

Watch your back, Conserve your ammo,
and NEVER cut a deal with a dragon!
Mergon is offline   #232 Reply With Quote
AussieDM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15

Old September 24th, 2016, 09:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mergon View Post
Again, I don't know if this is what you are looking for, but srElfHigh is the high elf under subraces but I don't feel that is what you are asking for.
When I click on "Open Data File" it takes me to the 5e data folder. The only options to load are the COM ones and none of them have the High Elf in it. The only option is the Moon or Sun Elf variants in the SCAG .user data file.

I'm just trying to create the half-elf variants from SCAG but can't figure out how to do it without copying from already built sources, hence why I looked for the high elf. I found what I needed in the Moon elf variant to build the Cantrip ability, but can't now get it to pop-up as an option for the core Half Elf like it does for the Human variant.

Honestly, I don't care how it's done, I just can't figure out how to build a half-elf variant racial option to choose in the builder. So if there are better ways to go about this, I'm all (elf) ears.
AussieDM is offline   #233 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,294

Old September 24th, 2016, 11:04 PM
Just click the copy button from the editor. The elf is built into the core pack and can't be opened in the editor.
daplunk is offline   #234 Reply With Quote
AussieDM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15

Old September 24th, 2016, 11:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daplunk View Post
Just click the copy button from the editor. The elf is built into the core pack and can't be opened in the editor.
Copy what? If it can't be opened in the editor, what am I copying?
AussieDM is offline   #235 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,294

Old September 24th, 2016, 11:28 PM
Just press the new (copy) button. You'll see.
daplunk is offline   #236 Reply With Quote
AussieDM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15

Old September 24th, 2016, 11:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daplunk View Post
Just press the new (copy) button. You'll see.
Yeah, that's totally unhelpful since there are a dozen different ways to copy from a dozen different things.

But it doesn't matter, I figured it out.
AussieDM is offline   #237 Reply With Quote
BoomerET
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 492
Send a message via ICQ to BoomerET Send a message via Yahoo to BoomerET Send a message via Skype™ to BoomerET

Old September 25th, 2016, 01:56 PM
AussieDM,

When somebody goes out of their way to help you, the correct reply is to say thank you.

@daplunk gave a valid and insightful comment. While brief, he was completely correct.

Maybe he didn't know that he needed to provide more information, but assumed that you knew that in order to copy something, you need to be in the correct editor tab.

So, I'll provide the hand-holding you're looking for.

1. Open the editor.
2. Create new file.
3. Click 'Race' tab.
4. Click 'New (Copy).
5. Choose something close to what you want, and make the appropriate changes.
6. Click 'Save'


Boomer

Castles & Crusades Ruleset for Hero Lab
Hero Lab (5E D&D) -> Fantasy Grounds Character Converter
BoomerET is offline   #238 Reply With Quote
Korlen
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 43

Old September 25th, 2016, 02:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerET View Post

So, I'll provide the hand-holding you're looking for.

Boomer
Check the veteran snark at the door, please.
Korlen is offline   #239 Reply With Quote
Mergon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 788

Old September 25th, 2016, 02:56 PM
I'm backing BoomerET on this.

AussieDM, comment:

Quote:
Yeah, that's totally unhelpful since there are a dozen different ways to copy from a dozen different things.

But it doesn't matter, I figured it out.
deserved such a reply in my opinion.

I also tried to help him, but found his requests a bit hazie, but I tried to reply to what I thought he was askign for.

Watch your back, Conserve your ammo,
and NEVER cut a deal with a dragon!
Mergon is offline   #240 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.