Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
yosomith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1

Old January 20th, 2018, 03:33 AM
A little background, we have a gaming group where one of us have brought the software and the rest of us just use the additional licenses, pretty standard fare I bet. Well we were using Hero Lab earlier today when it suddenly deactivated, not really sure why.

Basically I looked at two separate characters and printed out character sheets then went to load a character built from a different computer to print it out, small note we have done this several times in the past with no issue, and get hit with the deactivation.

This hasn't affected any of the other licenses connected to it, just this one. Still within the 120 days from initial activation so trying to get special case reactivation.

Mainly wondering if anyone else has encountered this issue?
yosomith is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Toblakai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 318

Old January 20th, 2018, 10:07 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by yosomith View Post
A little background, we have a gaming group where one of us have brought the software and the rest of us just use the additional licenses, pretty standard fare I bet. Well we were using Hero Lab earlier today when it suddenly deactivated, not really sure why.
This is not allowed by the licensing terms unless you happen to own all the devices the licenses are on. This is what I do, I have 4 licenses, my desktop, ipad, and two laptops. I let a friend borrow the ipad when he is over playing, and my son uses my second laptop.
Toblakai is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,045

Old January 20th, 2018, 01:33 PM
My main PC auto deactivated this morning.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Mystic Lemur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 247

Old January 22nd, 2018, 01:13 AM
Has there been a recent OS update that might cause Hero Lab to think you are running it on a new computer? Are any of the licenses being run on multiple devices? (The first time, it will "update" the license to the new device. The second time you change, or go back to the original device, it will not work.)
Mystic Lemur is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,045

Old January 22nd, 2018, 03:58 AM
Every modern computer in the world should be getting a forced upgrade hopefully last week or this week.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Exmortis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 710

Old January 22nd, 2018, 05:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daplunk View Post
Every modern computer in the world should be getting a forced upgrade hopefully last week or this week.
This update should not affect HL, if you are referring to Melty and Specy.

Also, there are a ton of underlying factors that will stop this update, from ancient AMD Athlon processors to unsupported Virus Scanners.

Exmortis aka "Scott"
RW - Game Master/Designer of custom game worlds
HL - Game Master/Designer
RPG Tools - Campaign Cartographer 3+, D20 Pro Ultimate.
Real Life - IT Project management and coordination.
Hobby - Anything on water or ATV.

My YouTube channel for Realm Works videos: Down, TBC at later date.
Exmortis is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,275

Old January 22nd, 2018, 06:59 AM
If computers are deactivating, double-check which license number is assigned to each one. My guess is that the same number is assigned to more than one of them, so that when a Hero Lab update went out recently, that triggered a license check, and it noticed that the license number on that computer had been moved to a different computer.
Mathias is online now   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.