Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

bmccord

Old September 3rd, 2009, 10:47 AM
I'm pretty new to D&D and also to Hero Lab so I hope my question isn't too silly.

I have went through Hero Lab, and I pretty much understand it. While looking at the TacCon, I noticed that I can add monsters to the portfolio and then use them in the TacCon, not all monsters are included.

For instance, I click on "Import Stock Hero" under the Portfolio menu, and I can find different creatures, characters, and monsters to import and use on the Tactical Console, but some I can't find. Case in point is a Black Dragon. Can't find it at all.

So, I can only assume that the entire SRD Monster List is not included in the data files.

So, here is my question, is there any plans to include the remaining monsters from the SRD in the data files? Or is someone working on data files that include those things? What is the best option here for using things that are missing?

I look forward to the help.

Thanks
bmccord is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Lone Wolf Staff

Old September 3rd, 2009, 11:47 AM
It's something we'd like to do, but it's a long way off, I'm afraid. In general, the only monsters that have been added are those that are humanoid (mostly those that have a level adjustment, meaning they might have use as a PC), or are a familiar/companion.

Adding them would be a matter of creating a new race in the editor for each monster (and for dragons, likely a race for each age stage), and then creating a character using that race. Take a look at the editor documentation (the help menu in the editor), and press new (copy) on the bottom left and study some of the existing races and see how they're assembled. Then, I'll be happy to answer any specific questions you have.
Mathias is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
bmccord

Old September 3rd, 2009, 11:57 AM