Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Pezmerga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 328

Old December 16th, 2010, 07:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by risner View Post
I wonder if the timing is the problem. Maybe try post-levels?
Tried a few different timings. I tried First 450, Pre and Post Levels, Final Phase.
Pezmerga is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Pezmerga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 328

Old December 16th, 2010, 08:00 AM
I am certain there has to be another way to do this. The Wizard starts with all cantrips but still has the "Spells must be added to the spellbook" message in the wizard tab. But when I added them with the code that used:
Code:
~ Add all 0-level mage spells to spellbook
foreach pick in hero from BaseSpell where "sLevel.0 | sClass.cHelpMge"
  perform eachpick.assign[Spellbook.cHelpMge]
  nexteach
It added all the spells but the message to add spells to spellbook went away.
Pezmerga is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 16th, 2010, 10:50 AM
The "Spells must be added to the spellbook" message makes sure that a spellbook caster has at least 1 first-level spell in their spellbook before they try to memorize spells (otherwise, we get bug report after bug report saying that Wizards/Witches/Alchemists can't memorize any spells but their 0-level spells).
Mathias is online now   #13 Reply With Quote
Pezmerga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 328

Old December 16th, 2010, 11:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
The "Spells must be added to the spellbook" message makes sure that a spellbook caster has at least 1 first-level spell in their spellbook before they try to memorize spells (otherwise, we get bug report after bug report saying that Wizards/Witches/Alchemists can't memorize any spells but their 0-level spells).
That makes sense. But I still am trying to get the 0 level spells to be in the classes spell book by default (due to the "begin play knowing all 0-level spells").
I can't figure out what allows this for the wizard type casters (Looking through a copy of the class etc.) Is this something implemented that is beyond the scope of the editor perhaps?
Pezmerga is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
areteas
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75

Old December 16th, 2010, 08:06 PM
I believe I heard Mathias or rob mention once that all 0-level spells are added as picks to all heros by default, and then made live by adding the 'Spellbook.<class helper>' tag to each pick (in the case of spellbook-based arcane classes). Not sure if this holds true for new 0-level spells created in the editor, but it sounds like perhaps not, if you've encountered the difficulties you're describing. I haven't run into any thing in the editor that would seem to contain the mechanism for this, though, so perhaps one of the LW devs can shed light on it.
areteas is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
Pezmerga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 328

Old December 16th, 2010, 08:28 PM
Well if i use this code

Code:
~ Add all 0-level mage spells to spellbook
foreach pick in hero from BaseSpell where "sLevel.0 & sClass.cHelpWiz"
  perform eachpick.assign[Spellbook.cHelpMge]
  nexteach
It adds all the 0 level wizard spells (minus my custom ones), except that it adds every copy of those 0 level spells. Like 2 ray of frosts, and 3 detect magics etc.

So I pretty much decided that pathfinder converted d20 Modern Mages have to manually add their 0 level spells lol. Not a huge deal I suppose, just a minor nuisance.
Pezmerga is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 17th, 2010, 01:17 AM
Perhaps look for the Wizard spellbook spells - Spellbook.cHelpWiz, instead of all wizard spells - sClass.cHelpWiz?
Mathias is online now   #17 Reply With Quote
Pezmerga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 328

Old December 17th, 2010, 08:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
Perhaps look for the Wizard spellbook spells - Spellbook.cHelpWiz, instead of all wizard spells - sClass.cHelpWiz?
Got it to add all the Wizard spells at least. had to do it like this...
Code:
Final Phase 10000
~ Add all 0-level mage spells to spellbook
~(Not adding custom modern cantrips (Haywire, Magic ID, etc.)
foreach pick in hero from BaseSpell where "sLevel.0 & Spellbook.cHelpWiz"
  perform eachpick.assign[Spellbook.cHelpMge]
  nexteach
Thanks for the help.
Pezmerga is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.