Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
raif11152
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1

Old November 27th, 2017, 06:16 PM
Is there a feature like the CreatureGen script for Fantasy Grounds or Roll20 that allow you to take a text stat block and HL will parse the text and load it into Hero lab for the purpose of adding monsters or heros?

I searched for previous answers but they were years old. My apologies if this is an old tired subject.
raif11152 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,065

Old November 28th, 2017, 04:48 PM
Not that I'm aware of. I made a few very custom ones in Excel for D&D 5e. I have one for spells for example and I did make something for monsters once upon a time but it was very bare bones.

It's not going to be possible to fully automate the process. But you can certainly speed the process up.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,192

Old November 30th, 2017, 07:30 AM
Theoretically speaking, character files are XML (you can open up the portfolio as a ZIP file and then navigate to where the character files are stored, which is not the "XML" folder; that's for Custom Output), so you could probably reverse-engineer it to parse a statblock and build that XML. In practice, it would be a real pain.
Duggan is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
nylanfs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 136

Old November 30th, 2017, 10:06 AM
Plus, especially for 3e, 35e, & to a lesser extent Pathfinder, you have to know all the choices made at each level to accurately re-create that statblock.

Paul "Yes that Paul" Grosse
PCGen BoD - PR Silverback
Forums: Nylanfs (or Nylan)

Hero Lab Shadowrun 4E & 5e user
nylanfs is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.