Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   Realm Works Discussion (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Any suggestions on how to prep for Realm Works? (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=46381)

JackOfAllGames November 7th, 2013 11:35 AM

Any suggestions on how to prep for Realm Works?

I'm a newbie DM. I've had some ideas floating around for upcoming campaigns. I'm really looking forward to Realm Works (as, I'm guessing, all of us are). I'm curious. Does anyone have any suggestions on how best to have our info organized once Realm Works does arrive?

What are you guys using in this interim period?

Me, I'm using SimpleMind (relational tree software) on my Android + Windows PC for brainstorming, mostly. Keeping track of more abstract ideas than specifics, the details to be filled in later.

Jenks3 November 7th, 2013 12:33 PM

Currently I use Evernote to keep track of ideas. I use curio sometimes (mind mapping mostly), but at the moment I am running an adventure path so I don't have as much need for it.

However, I will be using the crud out of Realmworks to run a sandbox campaign I have in the works.

Chemlak November 7th, 2013 01:49 PM

At the moment, I am mostly using RealmWorks. I'm also using OneNote for timeline tracking while I desperately await the calendar function to be cleaned up and implemented.

As far as organising your existing notes, in almost all cases RW will be just a bit different to anything you use right now, but it's extraordinarily well thought out.

High level overview (subject to change, beta product, etc, etc):

Categories: moderately broad groups of topics that are of the same overall type. Examples include Individuals, Communities, Groups. The included Categories in the software will cover most of your needs, but you may need to create custom Categories for your specific needs.