Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Pathfinder Community Packs (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=51966)

ShadowChemosh September 8th, 2015 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quintain (Post 215514)
Shadow,

I had several uncommitted changes for Ultimate Psioncs that I have in my dev folder. You know of any way to preserve those before upgrading to the latest packs?

Your best bet would be to copy the files out of your data\pathfinder folder to your desktop before downloading the latest version of the Pack. Then you would have to manually re-apply those changes to the downloaded files.

I guess I have to ask why you made changes but didn't commit them?

tenro September 8th, 2015 08:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh (Post 215524)
Are you trying to just use the 3PP or you want to actually be an editor and able to make source code changes to the Repository?

If you just want to use a Pack like a regular user all you need to do is follow the very simple setup in THIS post. GitHub is a source code repository designed to make programming/code changes with other people. People are allowed to get access to if they want to test out Beta versions of the software but its not recommend. To actually make changes to the code you would need to be authorized.

I just want to be a regular user. As I said before, the great things you have done are beyond my ability, I'm sure I'd just screw something up worse if I tried to do dev stuff.

Good news, however, is that the recent update you posted seems to have wholly fixed my issue. I am able to load the packs I want and use them to access gestalt, POW and psionic elements.

In making a character, I noticed a discrepancy I cannot determine the cause of. I could email you the .por file if you are interested, but the basic thing I noticed was that HL was saying my attack modifier was +10, but when i hovered over that (because it seemed low), the popup said 7 BAB, 5 STR, +2 weapon, which equals +14 to hit. Not sure why it would say that, unless it was considering me non-proficient in bastard sword (even though I was using it two-handed with martial weapon proficiency and it didn't list a -4 non-proficiency modifier).

Also, for Battle Templar it appears to consider the maneuvers separately instead of adding them to the others, so as a Level 2 Battle Templar it says (0 of 0 readied) even though the number of known/readied maneuvers is supposed to add to your previous class. Not really a big deal since it is an easy fix (just ready "too many" maneuvers under Battle Templar and "too few" maneuvers under the previous class).

Once again, thank you for your recent update.

Quintain September 8th, 2015 10:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh (Post 215525)
Your best bet would be to copy the files out of your data\pathfinder folder to your desktop before downloading the latest version of the Pack. Then you would have to manually re-apply those changes to the downloaded files.

I guess I have to ask why you made changes but didn't commit them?

I wasn't finished with the changes. Is there any way for me to commit my changes and have you apply them to the newer set?

I opened up the classes - user file and was able to copy/paste my additions to another file, so It looks like I can preserve them and commit them to the next batch.

TheIronGolem September 8th, 2015 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tenro (Post 215526)
Also, for Battle Templar it appears to consider the maneuvers separately instead of adding them to the others, so as a Level 2 Battle Templar it says (0 of 0 readied) even though the number of known/readied maneuvers is supposed to add to your previous class. Not really a big deal since it is an easy fix (just ready "too many" maneuvers under Battle Templar and "too few" maneuvers under the previous class).

Hi tenro, I did a lot of the Path of War content, the Battle Templar included.

The reason I list PrC maneuvers separately is because they often have their own discipline restrictions for maneuvers gained, separately from whatever other initiating classes the character has. For instance, the Battle Templar can only take maneuvers from Golden Lion plus two others of the player's choice. So if you picked, say, Iron Tortoise and Steel Serpent, you can't take a Thrashing Dragon maneuver from a Battle Templar level, even if one of your other classes had access to it.

If I wanted to add the PrC's maneuvers to that of a previous class, I'd have to enforce multiple sets of discipline restrictions within the same maneuver list. That's not impossible, but it would be really difficult and time-consuming, and the result would likely be very buggy and prone to errors. In fact, just thinking about it makes my brain want to slither out of one ear and go to Coldstone Creamery - and I can't afford to keep buying all those extra toppings that thing always wants.

ShadowChemosh September 8th, 2015 10:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tenro (Post 215526)
I just want to be a regular user. As I said before, the great things you have done are beyond my ability, I'm sure I'd just screw something up worse if I tried to do dev stuff.

Ok I got confused because you referenced a post about GitHub and an error that should ONLY happen if trying to use GitHub. So why I was all confused. :)

After thinking about I can figure/guess what happened. If you installed 3PP Pack and the Basic Pack on a Windows/Mac machine and then uninstalled the Basic Pack it would have caused that error.

If you go uninstalling Basic Packs from a Windows/Mac (not iPad) you need to reinstall any other packs again. Why? Its just the way that the desktop version of HL works.

By downloading the latest 3PP Pack it would have reinstalled the latest Basic Pack also and it would then work again. ;)

ShadowChemosh September 8th, 2015 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quintain (Post 215529)
I wasn't finished with the changes. Is there any way for me to commit my changes and have you apply them to the newer set?

I opened up the classes - user file and was able to copy/paste my additions to another file, so It looks like I can preserve them and commit them to the next batch.

Taking this conversation to the Pathfinder Community Standards.... thread in the "User Projects" forum. I don't want to cause confusion by having Editor topics in with the regular issues/questions of gamers.

tenro September 8th, 2015 11:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheIronGolem (Post 215530)
Hi tenro, I did a lot of the Path of War content, the Battle Templar included.

The reason I list PrC maneuvers separately is because they often have their own discipline restrictions for maneuvers gained, separately from whatever other initiating classes the character has. For instance, the Battle Templar can only take maneuvers from Golden Lion plus two others of the player's choice. So if you picked, say, Iron Tortoise and Steel Serpent, you can't take a Thrashing Dragon maneuver from a Battle Templar level, even if one of your other classes had access to it.

If I wanted to add the PrC's maneuvers to that of a previous class, I'd have to enforce multiple sets of discipline restrictions within the same maneuver list. That's not impossible, but it would be really difficult and time-consuming, and the result would likely be very buggy and prone to errors. In fact, just thinking about it makes my brain want to slither out of one ear and go to Coldstone Creamery - and I can't afford to keep buying all those extra toppings that thing always wants.

Hah! I do love that place, though dairy products don't agree with me! (Praise be to lactaid)

Thanks for the explanation, and all the work you did to make it easier for me to build a POW character. Maybe in the next update an option under the Adjustments tab could let us increase our readied maneuver total? Or should i just give the character the Extra Readied Maneuver bonus feat under adjustments? I suppose that would be easier.

ShadowChemosh September 9th, 2015 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tenro (Post 215526)
In making a character, I noticed a discrepancy I cannot determine the cause of. I could email you the .por file if you are interested, but the basic thing I noticed was that HL was saying my attack modifier was +10, but when i hovered over that (because it seemed low), the popup said 7 BAB, 5 STR, +2 weapon, which equals +14 to hit. Not sure why it would say that, unless it was considering me non-proficient in bastard sword (even though I was using it two-handed with martial weapon proficiency and it didn't list a -4 non-proficiency modifier).

I would really need to see the .por file or gather ALLOT more data to find the cause. Is this from a 3PP class or a core HL class? The easiest method would be to attach/post your .por file for me to look at. So many things affect values on a character it could be any number of things. Are you wearing armor you are not proficient with? Are you encumbered?


Quote:

Originally Posted by tenro (Post 215537)
Maybe in the next update an option under the Adjustments tab could let us increase our readied maneuver total?

I will look tonight but I think the Generic adjustments under 'ShadowChemosh Adjustments' can now do this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tenro (Post 215537)
Or should i just give the character the Extra Readied Maneuver bonus feat under adjustments? I suppose that would be easier.

This would be a good way to do it otherwise.

tenro September 9th, 2015 09:16 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I have attached the .por to this post

ShadowChemosh September 9th, 2015 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tenro (Post 215596)
I have attached the .por to this post

So your two-weapon fighting with a greatsword a a "armament shield bash". HL is giving the main hand a -4 penalty and the off-hand a -8 penalty which matches exactly to the two-weapon fighting rules.

Your using a greatsword in your primary hand and light weapon (ie armament shield bash) in your off hands. This is from the Warder class. The values are looking right to me.

I am not expert with some of these 3PP classes is there an ability or something that you have that should be lowering the TWF penalties?


In addition I checked and you can use the adjustment "Configurable: Table One" to give yourself more maneuvers. Just pick the Maneuver "tab" from the drop down. To allow more stances use the "Configurable: Table Two" adjustment instead.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.