Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   Realm Works Discussion (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Sync Required even though Sync successful? (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=64210)

Indus101 April 17th, 2020 08:37 PM

Sync Required even though Sync successful?
 
EDIT Got it to sync, but now facing "Error deserializing span list" whenever try to open realm.


Hi all,

I haven't used Realm Works in a few years, so I figured I would have some problems coming back, since my realms are old (May of 2016 was last sync).

The problem I'm having is when I try to open either of my old realms, I get the "you must sync first" error. So I click "Sync Required" button and they seem to sync fine. There's no errors, and when I click on "Manage Realm Data", the local and server topics/articles, etc. are identical. It seems to have worked.

Only I still can't open the realm. It still says sync required.

I did contact support about this a few weeks ago, and was told the problem would have to be forwarded to devs, so there might be some time before they could take a look at it. I haven't heard anything yet, so I'm hoping someone in the community might have encountered this problem and have a solution.

I don't currently have server/cloud access.

I AM able to create new realms, modify them, and they will sync up and open. I just can't get into the old ones.

thanks for any all help!

kbs666 April 17th, 2020 09:00 PM

Did you update your program? Since 2016 there have been several releases that are required in order to sync.

Indus101 April 17th, 2020 09:08 PM

Hi,

Yes, I'm on a brand new PC, so I downloaded the most current Realm Works version that was available.

Merion April 18th, 2020 12:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indus101 (Post 287963)
I don't currently have server/cloud access.

This could be the issue - just guessing, you should probably contact support.

Indus101 April 18th, 2020 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merion (Post 287973)
This could be the issue - just guessing, you should probably contact support.

I did contact support and went through the first level, including sending logs. But they said the matter had to be escalated to a dev, and that they weren't sure how long it would be before I got a response. Which is why I was hesitant to renew the cloud access. It sounds like there may be other issues going on, and I'm just worried that renewing won't solve the problem. That said, I may try it anyway, as it's been almost three weeks and I would like to get into my realms.

In the meantime, I was just hoping someone here might have some input on the matter, or have encountered it somewhere before.

thanks

meek75 April 18th, 2020 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indus101 (Post 287974)
I did contact support and went through the first level, including sending logs. But they said the matter had to be escalated to a dev, and that they weren't sure how long it would be before I got a response. Which is why I was hesitant to renew the cloud access. It sounds like there may be other issues going on, and I'm just worried that renewing won't solve the problem. That said, I may try it anyway, as it's been almost three weeks and I would like to get into my realms.

In the meantime, I was just hoping someone here might have some input on the matter, or have encountered it somewhere before.

thanks

This is why I am spending time removing critical material from RW. I was locked out of realms multiple times when RW was in active development and had long wait times to get it fixed. Now, with the LWD team moved on, I have no faith in the customer service department when it comes to RW. I didn't have much faith even when it still being developed. RW is just too much of a risk.

Indus101 April 18th, 2020 10:47 PM

Well, I bit the bullet and renewed my server access. Good news is, I was able to sync my old realm. Bad news is, it won't open.

I guess, because it's so old, Realm Works needs to update it to open. There's no choice but to allow it to do so. However, it crashes every time with this message:

"Error deserializing span list"

I've sent the report to the devs. Has anyone else had issues like this and found a workaround?

thanks in advance

Indus101 April 20th, 2020 07:35 AM

There's not a way to change the title of my post, is there? Since the sync thing is no longer the issue buy the "Error deserializing span list" is?

Acenoid April 25th, 2020 03:14 PM

There is another thread regarding this ...

I have no idea how I would export all my data away from RW. Used to it, love it, damn it's a shame.

kbs666 April 25th, 2020 06:13 PM

I've gotten all my text and images out. What I've lost are the smart image overlays with all the links to topics.

But I've got it all if they shut down the servers unexpectedly.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.