Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Legendary Items Activation (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=54374)

stuartwaring November 29th, 2015 05:14 PM

Legendary Items Activation
 
My character has a legendary item, which has (amongst others) the foe-biting ability. Although it appears on the specials tab, are the any plans (from LW or Community) to add it to the in-play area so that it can be activated (a la Power Attack) so it modifies the damage etc automatically?

I could do it myself, but being as they are non-duplicatable, that seems like a lot of work as i have little spare time at the moment!

Thanks
Stuart

Togainu November 29th, 2015 06:05 PM

I don't think this ability can be done as an activate-able. The ability doubles the damage done. Meaning that the entire roll + modifiers is multiplied. The system doesn't know what the dice result was.

So a roll of 1d6+5 doesn't become a 2d6+10. It becomes a (1d6+5)*2 and this becomes even worse when you also have abilities like flaming on it where it becomes (1d6(weapon)+1d6(flaming)+5)*2.

To see the different results you would get from it you can check here: http://anydice.com/program/720e

stuartwaring November 29th, 2015 11:31 PM

I had interpreted it as rolling everything twice, but I see that you are right, as written. Of course statistically the average is still the same, but you do not get the Gaussian curve. I still think it would be wothwile me having a go at writing the code, I'd I get chance simply to make it easier to remember to use it, as I am constantly using the in play tab, but rarely look at specials in game.

ShadowChemosh November 30th, 2015 10:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Togainu (Post 219877)
So a roll of 1d6+5 doesn't become a 2d6+10. It becomes a (1d6+5)*2 and this becomes even worse when you also have abilities like flaming on it where it becomes (1d6(weapon)+1d6(flaming)+5)*2.

Actually I could totally make it display this way actually. I can't guarantee that the math works when rolled on the iPad. I think I have tried to do a multiplier on the iPad for weapons and it didn't like it.

But could totally make it display (1d6+1d6 fire+5) * 2.

@stuartwaring if you want to give this a go I would recommend looking at the deprecated "Vital Strike" Feat I did in the Basic Pack. You can still find it in the editor as it has script logic to break apart the weapon values into pieces so that I could double it for Vital and Mythic Vital strike. That would give you a good starting point to work from.

stuartwaring November 30th, 2015 12:29 PM

@ShadowChemosh - I just had the same idea, but couldn't figure out a way to edit the livename.

I am looking at your script and i can see what it is doing, but of course I don't want to change the number of dice or the bonuses - i just need to wrap the whole thing in those brackets and add in the multiplication.

Looking at the debug tasks for the rapier, i can see the livename is dealt with in the render phase, and its priority, but i do not know enough about the location of the weapon's livename (is it in BaseWep??) in order to edit it.

I want to use this kind of statement
Code:

doneif (field[abilActive].value = 0)

~checks if the weapons are legendary and equipped
if (hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[gIsLegend].value <> 0 ) then
if (hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[gIsEquip].value <> 0) then

~Changes the damage shown
hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[livename].text = "(" & hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[wDamage].value & ") x2"
endif
endif

The issue is I am really not sure if the fields/children are correct (almost certainly not as it compiles, but nothing changes when i activate the ability!)

of course i could be going about it arse about face

stuartwaring November 30th, 2015 03:15 PM

I now have it sort of working - it works for my primary weapon, but if i add a different legendary weapon it no longer works.

Really stuck on this now!

Code:

doneif (field[abilActive].value = 0)

              var iX    as number
~    iX=0

      ~ Loop through all weapons on the hero except Touch Attacks
      ~ and any Ammunition.
        ~ Assume one handed damage
        iX = 0
        ~ If two handed weapon set to two-handed damage
        If (hero.child[iMagWeapon].tagis[wClass.TwoHanded] <> 0) Then
          iX = 1
        ~ If one handed and used in two hands then damage is two-handed
        ElseIf (hero.child[iMagWeapon].tagis[wClass.OneHanded] + hero.child[iMagWeapon].tagis[Hero.MainHand] + hero.child[iMagWeapon].tagis[Hero.OffHand] = 3) Then
          iX = 1
        ~ If used in off-hand
        ElseIf (hero.child[iMagWeapon].tagis[Hero.OffHand] - hero.child[iMagWeapon].tagis[Hero.MainHand] = 1) Then
          iX = 4
        Endif

   
~checks if the weapons are legendary and equipped
if (hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[gIsLegend].value <> 0 ) then
if (hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[gIsEquip].value <> 0) then

~Changes the damage shown
hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[wFixDamage].text = "(" & hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[wDamageTbl].arraytext[iX] & ") x2"


endif
endif

any clues as to why it works with a rapier but not a battle axe or light mace???

stuartwaring November 30th, 2015 03:24 PM

Also noted that if it is flaming, it displays as (1d6+21 plus 1d6 fire) x2 plus 1d6 fire.

any idea why the "plus 1d6 fire) appears twice?

Edit Figured out a way to stop it

Code:

hero.child[iMagWeapon].field[wDamExtra].text = ""
Note the script is running in the Render phase, so it is only a visual thing.

ShadowChemosh November 30th, 2015 04:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stuartwaring (Post 219911)
I now have it sort of working - it works for my primary weapon, but if i add a different legendary weapon it no longer works.

This is because you are using "hero.child" instead of a foreach loop. So hero.child goes and gets your the "very" first iMagWeapon (custom weapon gizmo) on the character. That is it just the very first one.

Foreach loop does a Loop finding "each" weapon or Pick on the hero and does your change to each one. That would be the reason the VS feat script was doing the foreach loop so that I did the change to the Number of Weapons the character has (ie from one weapon to MANY weapons).

In your case you may wish to look for a specific tag in the foreach loop for weapons that have the foe-biting Ability. As really that is all you care about. Check the tags on the Weapon to see if any say "Foe-Biter" ability tag.

ShadowChemosh November 30th, 2015 04:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stuartwaring (Post 219913)
Also noted that if it is flaming, it displays as (1d6+21 plus 1d6 fire) x2 plus 1d6 fire.

any idea why the "plus 1d6 fire) appears twice?

The background component must be adding it to the display text.... Hmmm

You could loop through all the Extra Weapon arrays and set to blanks so that they are not added in again by the background component. I would do this in the Render timing really early.

stuartwaring November 30th, 2015 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh (Post 219918)
This is because you are using "hero.child" instead of a foreach loop. So hero.child goes and gets your the "very" first iMagWeapon (custom weapon gizmo) on the character. That is it just the very first one.

Foreach loop does a Loop finding "each" weapon or Pick on the hero and does your change to each one. That would be the reason the VS feat script was doing the foreach loop so that I did the change to the Number of Weapons the character has (ie from one weapon to MANY weapons).

In your case you may wish to look for a specific tag in the foreach loop for weapons that have the foe-biting Ability. As really that is all you care about. Check the tags on the Weapon to see if any say "Foe-Biter" ability tag.

I was using a foreach loop, but that didnt work either, hence my attempt to change it to this. I could try and reinstate the foreach loop, but would I be searching in BaseWep for the Foe-Biting tag?

I also tried deleting the rapier, and it wouldnt apply to another weapon then either, hence my confusion!

I also fixed the 1d6 plus fire thing - see edited post


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.