Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Vigilante Shield of blades -- when you already have a shield (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=64487)

nimrodx July 3rd, 2020 05:14 AM

Vigilante Shield of blades -- when you already have a shield
 
Hi,

I have a sword and board character vigilante (1st edition)
He has taken shield of blades as a vigilante talent.

I notice that if I don't have the shield equipped, the AC bonus involved in using he talent gets applied to my AC.

However, when I do have a shield in my off hand -- the AC bonus is not applied.

My guess is that the AC bonus from the talent is replacing the AC effect of the shield -- since they are both +2.

This does not seem to be correct, as I cant recal seeing anything indicating that it should work this way.

Can this be fixed, or am I incorrect?

Thanks!

charlieluce July 3rd, 2020 07:28 AM

There's nothing in the description of Shield of Blades that says that it's an exception to the general rule that shield bonues don't stack, so I'd say it's working as intended.

Farling July 3rd, 2020 08:47 AM

Yes, the wording from archives of nethys "he gains a shield bonus to his AC until his next turn equal to his penalty on attack rolls from Power Attack." does not imply any sort of stacking, so only the best shield bonus applies. I would expect to see a difference when the character gets to a higher level when the power attack penalty gets higher than +2.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.