Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   Hero Lab Discussion (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Unable to run multiple instances of HL (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=48784)

Viral Platypus March 30th, 2014 10:07 AM

Unable to run multiple instances of HL
 
For some time now I have been unable to run multiple instances of HL. I was hoping that it would be addressed in an update, but there have been at least two updates since then. I have several friends who have the same problem. I am running Window 7 64bit Premium Home Edition.

Does anyone know of a fix for this? I tried running as Admin with no luck.

ChrisRevocateur March 30th, 2014 10:17 AM

Does it come up with an error message, or does the second instance just not open at all?

The One March 30th, 2014 10:19 AM

It should be perfectly possible, though you may need to check a couple of things

1) Are you trying to launch the second instance from a pinned taskbar icon? If so, that doesn't work, and you need to try from the Start menu or Desktop shortcut.

2) If you do get an error message, try enabling compatability mode from your shortcut icon (Right click -> Properities -> Compability tab, then tick the box "Run this as an administrator")

Viral Platypus March 30th, 2014 11:27 AM

Running it from a pinned app icon, from double clicking a portfolio file, running it from the start menu, and from the hero lab app folder. No error message, just won't start.

I have set the 'Run as Administrator' as the default in compatibility mode. I have not changed the compatibility mode to anything else yet.

Colen March 31st, 2014 11:02 AM

Go to the "Tools" menu, "Diagnostics" sub-menu - do you have "enable debug tracing" enabled? If so, disable it and this should no longer be a problem for you.

We recommend you do NOT run Hero Lab as an administrator, as it may cause issues with installing future updates. :(

Hope this helps!

Viral Platypus March 31st, 2014 01:41 PM

Awesome! Thanks. I'm not sure why I had turned that on. I will let my friends know as well. To make sure they don't have the same problem.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.