Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - d20 System (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Strange feats I am trying to add (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=8961)

Lawful_g August 3rd, 2009 09:10 PM

Strange feats I am trying to add
 
Alright, in another thread I mentioned that I was making a feat called Education that gives you a +2 to 2 chosen Knowledge skills. Since there is no way to have 2 selections on one feat, I have chosen to make several feats that will give you a +2 on one skill and let you choose the second skill to get the bonus.

In that thread I got distracted and forgot about the problem while getting others answered by the ever helpful mghel. I don't want to revive that thread, so I'll just bring it back up here. The extent that I have for scripts is:

~ Add 2 to our chosen skill
field[fChosen].chosen.field[Bonus].value += 2

~ Add 2 to the base skill
hero.childfound[kKnowHist].field[Bonus].value = hero.childfound[kKnowHist].field[Bonus].value + 2

~ Set our 'short name'
if (field[fChosen].ischosen <> 0) then
field[fShortName].text = "Education - History and " & field[fChosen].chosen.field[name].text
endif

When I select a skill, I get an error "Attempt to assign field value with no pick context".
There is no error when I compile the script in the editor, but the chosen skill is not gaining any bonus either.

Lawful_g August 3rd, 2009 09:17 PM

Also in the old thread, I mentioned that the Wu Jen class I made has been made impossible to use because the class specials window has shoved the buttons to choose spells to memorize and/or add to the spellbook off the bottom of the tab, where they are unclickable. There are a lot of class specials, but still, doesn't seem like that should be right.

Is this an error? How should I proceed?

Lawful_g August 3rd, 2009 09:30 PM

And finally there is the Academic priest feat I am adding. This feat allows clerics who take it to use Intelligence to determine their maximum spell level, and bonus spells.

HOWEVER, the spell save DCs remain based on wisdom. Is this possible to do with a feat? I noticed that the recently added Class variants have an option for overriding the Spell attribute and Max Spell level with a new attribute, so it might be possible.

An alternate way could be to make a class variant that does that, then bootstrap it to the feat. But if this is done, then the portion of the Cleric tab where it says "Spell Save DC: XX + spell level" would need to be corrected to go back to Wisdom. I can't seem to right click on it to check out fields and tags and whatnot, so I don't know how to experiment with it.

Lawful_g August 3rd, 2009 10:54 PM

Ok seriously. Last one of the night, I promise. I need to get to sleep after all... Curse you Hero Lab, for being the obsession that robs me of sleep! (Shakes fist at laptop)

Anyway. How do you count the number of times a specific feat has been taken?

#hasfeat[fWhatever] appears to only be able to tell whether the feat is present (1) or absent (0).

Mathias August 4th, 2009 02:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lawful_g (Post 31742)
Also in the old thread, I mentioned that the Wu Jen class I made has been made impossible to use because the class specials window has shoved the buttons to choose spells to memorize and/or add to the spellbook off the bottom of the tab, where they are unclickable. There are a lot of class specials, but still, doesn't seem like that should be right.

Is this an error? How should I proceed?

This occurs on all custom spellcasting classes with class specials. Fixing it is on the to-do list (the fix will be to add the oval "I" information button that's used on the SRD spellcasting classes to all custom classes).

Mathias August 4th, 2009 02:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lawful_g (Post 31749)
Ok seriously. Last one of the night, I promise. I need to get to sleep after all... Curse you Hero Lab, for being the obsession that robs me of sleep! (Shakes fist at laptop)

Anyway. How do you count the number of times a specific feat has been taken?

#hasfeat[fWhatever] appears to only be able to tell whether the feat is present (1) or absent (0).

#hasfeat[XXX] is a macro substitution for:

hero.tagis[HasFeat.XXX]

so, hero.tagcount[HasFeat.XXX] will get you the count of a feat.

Mathias August 4th, 2009 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lawful_g (Post 31746)
And finally there is the Academic priest feat I am adding. This feat allows clerics who take it to use Intelligence to determine their maximum spell level, and bonus spells.

My apologies, but I won't have time to research this until I'm back from Gen Con. Please bump this thread if I don't get back to it

Mathias August 4th, 2009 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lawful_g (Post 31741)
Alright, in another thread I mentioned that I was making a feat called Education that gives you a +2 to 2 chosen Knowledge skills. Since there is no way to have 2 selections on one feat, I have chosen to make several feats that will give you a +2 on one skill and let you choose the second skill to get the bonus.

In that thread I got distracted and forgot about the problem while getting others answered by the ever helpful mghel. I don't want to revive that thread, so I'll just bring it back up here. The extent that I have for scripts is:

~ Add 2 to our chosen skill
field[fChosen].chosen.field[Bonus].value += 2

~ Add 2 to the base skill
hero.childfound[kKnowHist].field[Bonus].value = hero.childfound[kKnowHist].field[Bonus].value + 2

~ Set our 'short name'
if (field[fChosen].ischosen <> 0) then
field[fShortName].text = "Education - History and " & field[fChosen].chosen.field[name].text
endif

When I select a skill, I get an error "Attempt to assign field value with no pick context".
There is no error when I compile the script in the editor, but the chosen skill is not gaining any bonus either.

Try putting your "~Add 2 to our chosen skill" section inside the same if statement that the shortname modification is in. If you get the error as soon as you add the feat, and not just once you select a skill, it's because the script runs as soon as the feat is added, and at that point, the user hasn't been given the chance to choose something for fChosen.

Lawful_g August 25th, 2009 10:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mgehl (Post 31780)
Try putting your "~Add 2 to our chosen skill" section inside the same if statement that the shortname modification is in. If you get the error as soon as you add the feat, and not just once you select a skill, it's because the script runs as soon as the feat is added, and at that point, the user hasn't been given the chance to choose something for fChosen.

That didn't work either. I am really stumped on this one it seems. How does one add a bonus to a skill that they select?

Also, this is a bump for the Academic Priest feat, whenever you finish with your pathfinder entry duties, mghel.

Lawful_g September 6th, 2009 04:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mgehl (Post 31779)
My apologies, but I won't have time to research this until I'm back from Gen Con. Please bump this thread if I don't get back to it

Nevermind the Academic Priest feat I mentioned, I stumbled across the key while looking for another answer and have got it working now. Keep me posted on these other issues, especially that damnable education feat snafu.

Thanks.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.