Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   Realm Works Discussion (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Issue when exporting/importing (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=63951)

rwap February 26th, 2020 05:07 AM

Issue when exporting/importing
 
Hi everyone,

I've been using Realmworks for 5-6 years, but only just started trying to explore the import/export functionality.

I'm running Realmworks version 1.0.1094.254 on Windows 10.

I've currently got two realms at the minute, one is a child of the other. After doing some work in the child realm, I've tried to export and import it into the parent realm, but I get a crash without fail and the error 'Cannot move tags when incorporation required'.

Has anyone encountered this error before? I tried searching for it in the forum search but it doesn't return anything.

Farling February 26th, 2020 07:25 AM

Yes, you should only export->import in one direction between realms. It won't work, or will break things, if you try to merge from the realm containing the import back to the realm from which the export was originally performed.

nightpanda2810 February 27th, 2020 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Farling (Post 286345)
Yes, you should only export->import in one direction between realms. It won't work, or will break things, if you try to merge from the realm containing the import back to the realm from which the export was originally performed.

Exactly this. I tried doing this a while back, couldn't get it to work, just made a mess.

Check this thread, may help you reorganize in a way that works for you.

http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=63654

Acenoid February 27th, 2020 10:03 AM

Will realm A remember if you export to B and from there to C and then C to A? :)

nightpanda2810 February 27th, 2020 10:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Acenoid (Post 286412)
Will realm A remember if you export to B and from there to C and then C to A? :)

Never go from C to A. If you have info to edit in C that you want in A and B, go into A, make your edit, export, import into B, export that, import into C. Any other way makes a big mess, if it works at all. Its a bit tedious to do this, but its worth the effort.

I also recommend using version numbers in the export section, then make note in the description what each version number means. You can keep an export of each, or delete them as you go once you've confirmed all is well.

https://i.imgur.com/KNiqsoQ.png

Acenoid February 27th, 2020 11:58 AM

Good idea. But the only things I tried to export so far crashed for some reason :/ and the realm was not even complicated"!

Farling February 27th, 2020 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Acenoid (Post 286423)
Good idea. But the only things I tried to export so far crashed for some reason :/ and the realm was not even complicated"!

Even going A to B to C and back to A will cause a problem. I don't think it is based on complexity at all.

nightpanda2810 February 28th, 2020 05:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Acenoid (Post 286423)
Good idea. But the only things I tried to export so far crashed for some reason :/ and the realm was not even complicated"!

Assuming you're not trying to go backwards, downgrade to 253. You will need to delete your local database and sync back down from the cloud. Best way is to rename the Realm Works folder here, then resync after the downgrade.
C:\Users\USER\AppData\Roaming\LWD Technology, Inc


https://www.wolflair.com/download/rw...53_install.exe


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.