Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Racial skill bonus that increases with level (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=62921)

Aril July 24th, 2019 10:38 AM

Racial skill bonus that increases with level

I'm new to Hero Lab, and have been reading through the documentation and samples, and have figured out (using the Faerie Dragon example) how to create racial skill bonuses for a race I'm building.

However, the race I'm trying to convert has skill bonuses as the character's level goes up. So, it has +1 to X skill at lvl 1.....but then it gets another +1 at lvl 5, another +1 at lvl 10, another +1 at lvl 15, and a final +1 at lvl 20.

I'm not sure how to build a scaling racial skill bonus.

Is this possible?

Thkaal July 24th, 2019 11:34 PM

Yeah, you can do it in the scripting.

I don't know the exact variable but it would be something like...

hero.child[skill] += 1+(hero.child[level]/5)

I am probably WAY wrong on what the exact language is but it would be something like that.

Aril July 25th, 2019 06:01 AM

I used I think one of the "Eval" menus to add the script for the skill.....I followed exactly along with the instructions from the Faerie Dragon example in the tutorial.

Is that where I'd try using this alternate script you're suggesting?

Minous July 25th, 2019 07:06 AM

Are you using the HL editor to create your race or are you using the GUI racial builder?

Aril July 25th, 2019 10:32 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hmm....I'm not sure....I'm new......I went into Hero Lab, went to Tools, and clicked to open the Editor tool. I'm in there.

Here's a screenshot of where I'm working.

Minous July 25th, 2019 10:53 AM