Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   Warhammer 40,000 (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Tyranid Mistake (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5792)

September 16th, 2005 10:57 PM

Tyranid Mistake
 
Hello there,

I noticed one mistake in the Tyranid list.

Page 32 of the Tyranid Codex.

"The same Biomorph cannot be taken more than once on any one Tyranid creature"

According to Games Workshop Headquarters this applies to adrenal glands. Although adrenal glands can give either +1 initiative or +1 WS, they are still considered the same bio morph. A Carnifex for example can only chose to have either the initiave or weapon skill bonus not both.

Cheers,

Warmonger September 20th, 2005 07:22 AM

That's really pushing the definition. Each adrenal gland is listed as a seperate entry. The intent of the rule in not allowing more than one, is so that you can not for example, take two adrenal glands, giving it a +2 initiative.

September 20th, 2005 10:35 PM

Would be nice to take both but read page 32 again.

The same biomorph cannot be taken more than once.

Then read the adrenal glands entry. "Adrenal Glands: Adrenal Glands add +1 to a creature's weapon skill OR initiative characteristic"

If you could take both they would have given it differnt biomorph names.

The design idea behind this is to make Tyranid players choose between getting hit by space Marines on 3s and striking before power fists or getting hit on 4s and going simultaneosly with powerfists.

Dionysus November 22nd, 2005 06:36 AM

This is actually incorrect what you are saying. The two Adrenal glands you mention are two entirely seperate biomorphs and are not the same. Thus they are allowed to be taken together as concluded by a great majority of people on the Official Forums, Warseer, Dysartes, Dakka Dakka and several other forums. There is nothing in the rules to prevent you from choosing these separate biomorphs together.

If you need further proof please reference p.35 of Codex: Tyranids for the Hive Tyrant entry. It states that only one biomorph with the ** sign may be chosen. Now look at the two Adrenal Glands (I) & (WS), there is no ** sign next to them allowing them both to be chosen on the same creature.

Although it is not possible to use the same biomorph twice on the same creature as indicated on p.32, Adrenal Glands (I) and Adrenal Glands (WS) do two entirely different things and are not classed as the same biomorph. Therefore as demonstrated in the Hive Tyrant example above they are allowed on the same Tyranid Creature.

Hope this helps.

Cheers

Dio


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.