PDA

View Full Version : Strange error message when adding NPCs


Lexin
April 21st, 2017, 06:23 AM
So I'm adding NPCs for my game to my file set up for it in HL, and for most of them the 'standard' NPC type doesn't exist so I'm adding them as "Custom Occupation" and I keep getting the error message, "Syntax error in dynamic 'candidate' tag expression."

What does it mean?

Should I worry about it?

Mathias
April 21st, 2017, 08:16 AM
It appears to happen if you try to add new skills to "Occupation Skill Points Assigned", without first adding anything to "Additional Occupation Skills". Is that the set of steps you're following?

It should only happen for the custom occupation, because every other occupation already has at least one occupation skill set, and for the custom occupation, you shouldn't encounter that issue again once at least one occupation skill has been chosen - so the work-around is simple.

Thank you for reporting this issue, I've gotten it fixed for the next release.

Lexin
April 21st, 2017, 08:59 AM
I think that's what I'm doing, I'll try it your way round and see if I carry on getting the error message.

It's these pesky NPCs, they don't follow the same rules as investigators. Mind you, some of my players insist on having non-standard PCs, too!