PDA

View Full Version : Hit a dead end, due to lack of coding knowledge

Archmage
May 15th, 2010, 12:18 PM
Hi there, im trying to enter a template that a friend of mine uses in his game into hero labs, I have this temple on my inquisitor character. Adding its "Change Form" ability and it spell resistance gave me a few troubles.

It`s supposed to have an uncapped spell resistance of 11+hd, i looked at the half fiend and entered the same script used there, but the spell resistance only increases by 1 per 3 hd. so i changed it in the script to 12+ hd and now it works fine, but it still "feels" wrong, and i doubt it works fully as intented, also the cap is still there.

Also, I have looked at the change form ability of the werewolf, and the werewolf template itself, and copy pasted, and tried to change and lots of other stuff, but since i have no knowledge of coding/scripting I don`t get the "change form ability" to work properly.

This is what it is suposed to do:

I just want it to display a box under activated abilities that denotes that it is a supernatural ability and gives: +1 tentacle attack, 20% Concealment,50% Fortification and -1 to all enemy attacks against me. These bonuses should only be displayed in the specials tab when i have the alternate form toggled on (checked in checkbox) but i can only get it to either: Always show, or when i toggle it i get an error and nothing happens.

Could anyone enlighten me on what to do? :P

- THanks

Mathias
May 17th, 2010, 08:24 AM
Before you work on the activation, could you please try your hand at adding all those abilities to the template without activation? Please ask if you run into any trouble on those, and once that's done, I'll help you set up the activation.

Archmage
May 17th, 2010, 10:55 AM
Thanks for the reply!, I have tried to add the abilities to the template as racial abilities in the following way: