PDA

View Full Version : Adding a Feat

RedBeardSean
April 23rd, 2010, 06:37 AM
Okay, I've been using the HeroLab software for a couple of years for my M&M game, but now I'm starting a Pathfinder game, and find I want to add a Feat. Of course, before I do, I'd like to make sure no one has already done the work- no sense reinventing the wheel, after all. (Not to mention the editor for feat addition is complex looking and I'd have to do a lot of reading to figure it out, and I'm essentially lazy).

The feat I want to add, you ask? I'm doing this at work, so this is just the basic gist...

Multicultural (General)
Prereq: 1st level Character
Description: Choose a race other than your parent race. You gain access to the bonus languages of that race, and qualify for prestige classes, traits (you get the Adopted trait as a bonus Trait) and feats for which that race is a prerequisite. You don't get access to magic items whose powers are built around your adopted race. You can take 10 on Knowledge and Sense Motive checks in regards to your adopted race.
Special: Half-races cannot choose either of their parent races as the object of this feat.
Special: You can only select this feat at 1st level.

So, adding this to HL would require a choice of race for the adopted race, and somehow adding a sub-routine that would allow access to some racial stuff (langauges, preqs for feats and talents, etc.) without changing the type or subtype of the character.

RedBeardSean
April 23rd, 2010, 06:43 AM
The idea here is that a half-orc, adopted and raised by dwarves, for instance, should be brought up as a dwarf, and have access to more than just the dwarf traits that the Adopted Trait would allow.

Mathias
April 23rd, 2010, 09:06 AM